Baduraliya, Colts through to the quarterfinals

SLC Invitation T20 Tournament 2019/20

The final day of the SLC Invitation T20 Tournament 2019/20’s group stages saw 6 matches being worked out across the island, 3 matches from group’s A and D respectively.

Group A

The final day results in group A fixtures made a huge difference in the points table as yesterday’s table topper Moors SC was pushed back to the 3rd position with Badureliya CC and Colts CC registering massive wins over Bloomfield CAC and Galle CC, boosting their NRR. 

Ramesh Mendis guides Moors over Galle with an unbeaten 72

Thilakaratne Sampath was the maestro in the Baderilaya CC’s 101 run win over Bloomfield CAC while youngsters Vishad Randika, Avishka Fernando and Sadeera Samarawickrama stroked half-centuries to crush Panadura SC by 100 runs.

Badureliya Cricket Club vs Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club

Toss – Bloomfield CC
Venue – FTZ Sports Complex (BOI), Katunayake

Brief Scores

Badureliya Cricket Club – 207/6 (20) Thilakarathna Sampath 79, Yashoda Lanka 51, Lahiru Milantha 30, Dileepa Jayalath 2/22, Mishen Silva 2/33

Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club- 106 (15.3) Nipuna Gamage 21, Lahiru Samarakoon 3/19, Malith De Silva 2/34, Alankara Asanka 2/07, Dushan Hemantha 2/10

Badureliya won by 101 runs

Colombo Colts Cricket Club vs Galle Cricket Club

Toss – Colts CC
Venue – BRC Ground

Brief Scores

Colombo Colts Cricket Club – 206/7 (20) Vishad Randika 51*, Avishka Fernando 50, Sadeera Samarawickrama 50, Saranga Rajaguru 3/29, Abid Hasan 2/47

Galle Cricket Club – 106/8 (20) Chatura Lakshan 31*, Chamod Wickramasuriya 24, Nipun Ransika 3/13, Prabath Jayasuriya 2/21

Colts won by 100 runs

Unichela Sports Club vs Panadura Sports Club

Toss – Unichela SC
Venue – FTZ Sports Complex (BOI), Katunayake

Brief Scores

Unichela Sports Club – 102/8 (20) Hasitha Nirmal 53*, Kaumal Nanayakkara 3/12, Azhar Attari 2/24, Umesh Karunarathne 2/16

Panadura Sports Club – 106/7 (19) Umesh Karunarathne 32, Nuwan Chanaka 3/09


Group D

In the battle to decide the top spot in group D Ragama CC topped CCC by 31 runs, though both teams had already qualified for the quarter-finals.

BRC secured 3rd place with their 6-wicket win over Kandy Customs Sports Club who finished at the bottom of the group, while Gayan Maneeshan (78*) and Rajeewa Weerasinghe (3/33) shinned for Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC as they registered a comfortable victory over Nugegoda Sports & Welfare club.

Ragama Cricket Club vs Colombo Cricket Club

Toss – Ragama
Venue – P Sara Oval 

Brief Scores

Ragama Cricket Club – 123/7 (20) Janith Liyanage 31*, Nishan Madushka 26, Nuwan Thushara 2/42, Wanindu Hasaranga 2/16 

Colombo Cricket Club – 92 (18.3) Shalika Karunanayake 23, Lasith Abeyrathne 20, Ishan Jayarathne 2/14, Amila Aponso 2/19, Binura Fernando 2/11, Nishan Pieris 2/12


Kandy Customs Sports Club vs Burgher Recreation Club

Toss – Kandy Customs
Venue – P Sara Oval 

Brief Scores

Kandy Customs Sports Club – 123/8 (20) Buddika Prasad 30, Bhanuka Rajapaksha 3/11, Soheibullah 2/11, Duvindu Thilakarathna 2/15 

Burgher Recreation Club – 124/4 (17.4) Nisal Francisco 34, Hashen Ramanayaka 34*, Bhanuka Rajapaksha 30, Nimnaka Rathnayaka 2/25


Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC vs Nugegoda Sports & Welfare Club

Toss – SLPA
Venue – BRC Ground

Brief Scores

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC – 188/5 (20) Gayan Maneeshan 78*, Adeesha Nanayakkara 52, Supun Kavinda 24, Chanuka Dilshan 2/24

Nugegoda Sports & Welfare Club – 162/9 (20) Nimantha Gunasiri 52, Denuwan Rajakaruna 49, Tharindu Gamage 24, Rajeewa Weerasinghe 3/33, Supun Kavinda 2/30


After the conclusion of the group stages, here’s how the quarterfinals are stacked up.

The final matches of the tournament will be live-streamed on on 21st January from 10.00 am onwards.

>>For more cricket click here<<