Kaumal Nanayakkara spins Cambrians to innings victory

Under 19 ‘Division I Cricket Tournament 2018/19

Four matches of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division I Cricket Tournament 2018/19 were conducted today around the island. Kaumal Nanayakkara’s match bag of 10 wickets helped Prince of Wales College to record an innings victory over President’s College.

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa vs President’s College, Kotte

Prince of Wales College recorded an innings victory against President’s College in their Group B fixture which concluded today at Prince of Wales College Grounds in Moratuwa. The President’s College batsmen resumed day two on 64 runs for 5 wickets and were bundled out for 126 runs for their first innings. Left arm spinner Kaumal Nanayakkara took 5 scalps for 38 runs for the Cambrians.

Prince Fernando put Cambrians on top

After being asked to follow on, the lads from Kotte showed a poor batting display in the second innings as they were bowled out for just 44 runs. Kaumal Nanayakkara starred again with the ball picking up another 5-wicket haul for Prince of Wales College.

Brief scores

Prince of Wales College – 266/9d (71.2) Prince Fernando 85, Pasindu Pathum 55*, Tharindu Amarasinghe 22

Presidents College – 126 (49.2) Thevin Thewmika 21, Kaumal Nanayakkara 5/38, Lakshan Perera 3/27 & 44 (21.5) Hasitha Nirmal 27, Kaumal Nanayakkara 5/22, Suwath Mendis 3/14

Result – Prince of Wales College won by an innings & 96 runs

Ananda College, Colombo vs Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya

Group D fixture between Ananda College and Dharmapala College ended in a draw today at Ananda College Grounds in Colombo but the hosts managed to take first innings honors. Though, the Dharmapala opening batsmen provided a solid start to their first innings, the visitors could only manage to post 210 runs all-out. Chamika Gunasekara and Janidu Jayawardane picked up 4 wickets each for the hosts.

Dharmashoka win despite Premadasa’s century

Ananda College began their second innings 38 runs ahead and finished day two with a score of 216 runs for 4 wickets. Kanishka Ranthilakage and Kamesh Nirmal top scored with well-made half-tons.

Brief scores

Ananda College – 248 (82.2) Kanishka Ranthilakage 58, Kalana Wijesiri 41, Kavindu Gimhana 38, Dilshan de Silva 3/37, Vihanga Gunarathne 3/50, Dulaj Egodage 2/33, Chamindu Samarasinghe 2/49 & 216/4 (33) Kanishka Ranthilakage 56, Kamesh Nirmal 55, Kalana Wijesiri 45*, Muditha Ranathunga 30*, Dilshan de Silva 2/42

Dharmapala College – 210 (71.5) Navindu Madushanka 55, Tharindu Sandaruwan 34*, Malith Sandakalum 24, Chamika Gunasekara 4/38, Janidu Jayawardane 4/71  

Result – Match Drawn (Ananda College won first innings points)

Zahira College, Colombo vs Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, Moratuwa

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya managed to take first innings points against Zahira College in the traditional fixture between the two sides which concluded today at Zahira College Grounds in Colombo. Though, the Moratuwa boys were struggling at 100 runs for 6 wickets at the close of play yesterday, they managed to post 228 runs for their first innings thanks to the magnificent century stroked by Madushan Dilakshana.

Photos: Thurstan College v Prince Of Wales College – Singer U19 Cricket Tournament 

The Zahira batsmen began their second innings 110 runs behind but showed a much better batting display posting 201 runs for 5 wickets with M Shadulla scoring a brilliant 93 runs.  

Brief scores

Zahira College – 118 (43.3) Aravinth 21, M Shadulla 20, Nadith Mishendra 7/34, Eran Hansamal 2/43 & 201/5 (62) M Shadulla 93, Dulsara Shaminda 51, M Slasa 34, Eran Hansamal 2/59

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya – 228 (81) Maduhsan Dilakshana 100, Janith Semith 37, M Kalid 3/25, M Rifath 3/67, M Dilhan 2/45

Result – Match Drawn (Moratu Maha Vidyalaya won first innings points)

Lumbini College, Colombo vs D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo

The Group B fixture between Lumbini College and D.S. Senanayake College commenced today at BRC Grounds in Colombo. The Lumbini skipper won the toss and chose to bat first but the decision backfired as they were bundled out for just 74 runs. Chamath Yatawara and Methushan Kumara were instrumental in causing the batting collapse as they shared 9 wickets between themselves.  

DS Senanayake narrowly miss out on outright win

In reply, D.S. Senanayake College posted 164 runs for their first innings. The Lumbini batsmen began their second innings 90 runs behind and were 4 runs for 1 wicket at the close of play in day one.

Brief scores

Lumbini College – 74 (43.2) Sohan Dilshan 26, Chamath Yatawara 5/14, Methushan Kumara 4/28 & 4/1 (4.1)

D.S. Senanayake College – 164 (43.1) Sandaru Wickramarathne 44, Prabath Madushanka 5/36, Ravishka Wijesiri 3/41