DS Senanayake narrowly miss out on outright win

Under 19 Division 1 Cricket Tournament 2018/19


The Group B fixture between D.S. Senanayake College and Zahira College in the Singer Schools Under 19 Division 1 Cricket Tournament 2018/19 concluded in a draw today at the Zahira College Grounds, as first innings points were won by D.S. Senanayake College.

Read More: Dharmashoka win despite Premadasa’s century

After being 300 runs for 6 wickets overnight, D.S. Senanayake College declared their innings today. In reply, Zahira College batsmen posted only 193 runs all-out in their first innings. Chathura Lakshan top scored with a valuable knock of 71 runs for the hosts.  

Methushan Kumara was the pick of the bowlers for the visitors as he grabbed 5 wickets for 43 runs. After being asked to follow on, the Zahira batsmen did not show an improved batting display in the second innings as they were bundled out for 142 runs.

Photos: D.S. Senanayake College vs Zahira College | Singer U19 Cricket Tournament 2018/19

Methushan Kumara starred again with the ball picking up another 5-wicket haul in the second innings. Chasing an easy target of 36 runs to win, the D.S batsmen could post only 19 runs for 1 wicket as umpires called stumps on day two.

Brief Scores

D.S. Senanayake College 300/6d (71) Muditha Lakshan 133*, Amitha Dabare 56, M Rifath 3/60 & 19/1 (2)

Zahira College 193 (48.4) Chathura Dilrukshan 71, Ridmika Nimesh 28, M Dilhan 25, Methushan Kumara 5/43, Chamath Yatawara 3/47 & 142 (39.3) Ridmika Nimesh 49, Aravindth 26, Yasith Samaradiwakara 20, Methushan Kumara 5/46, Muditha Lakshan 4/23

Result – Match Drawn (D.S. Senanayake College won first innings points)