Home Cricket National Cricket Top order falters after bowlers shine for Sri Lanka

Top order falters after bowlers shine for Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka vs Pakistan - 2nd Test - Day 1

Lasith Embuldeniya and Lahiru Kumara shared eight wickets to put Sri Lanka in the driver’s seat before Pakistan took three crucial wickets on the first day’s play in the second Test match in Karachi on Thursday.  

Embuldeniya and Kumara took four wickets apiece to bundle out Pakistan to 171 after the hosts opted to bat first. In reply, at stumps, Sri Lanka were 64 for 3 after losing their top order. 

Earlier in the first session, left-arm seamer Vishwa Fernando struck early, with the first ball of the seventh over when he hit the top of the off-stump as left-handed Shan Masood was clean bowled with a vicious delivery. 

Two balls later, Pakistan skipper Azhar Ali was also castled by Fernando with a cracking delivery which went through Ali’s defenses. The home team captain’s torrid run continued as he has not passed the half-century mark in 13 innings. In nine, he has not even got to double figures. 

Kasun Rajitha out of Pakistan Test series

Abid Ali and Babar Azam added a fruitful 55-run stand to stage a comeback. However, with only a few minutes left for lunch, Pakistan lost Ali who was struck plumb in front by Kumara.

In the post-lunch session, Embuldeniya dismissed both Babar Azam and Haris Sohail to further derail the hosts. A beautiful delivery with flight, dip, turn and bounce by the tall left-arm spinner, Embuldeniya deceived Azam as he was stumped for 60. Sohail was caught on crease as the ball hit the front-pad and the left-hander was adjudged LBW just before Tea. 

In the first over after the Tea break, Kumara backed his pace and delivered the killer blow by removing Mohammed Rizwan and Yasir Shah in two consecutive deliveries. Rizwan was clean bowled by a full delivery and Shah played across the line to a full, straight ball. 

The tail couldn’t wag enough for the hosts after set batsman Asad Shafiq fell to a well-directed short delivery by Kumara. In the meantime, Embuldeniya snapped up Mohammed Abbas and Shaheen Shah Afridi. 

Sri Lanka with a little more than an hour left lost Oshada Fernando, who made an impressive start as an opener in Pindi. He failed to see off the new ball as poked unnecessarily only to be caught behind off left-arm seamer Shaheen Shah Afridi. 

Mohammad Abbas rediscovered his mojo removing Dimuth Karunaratne with a regulation delivery as he chopped one onto the stumps. With only 10 minutes left to stumps, Abbas set up Kusal Mendis brilliantly with a good length delivery which took the outside edge and was snapped up cleanly by the first slip fielder. 

Angelo Mathews remained unbeaten on 8 along with night watchman, Lasith Embuldeniya. 


Sri Lanka
271/10 (85.5) & 212/7 (60)
191/10 (59.3) & 555/3 (131)
Shan Masood b Vishwa Fernando5151033.33
Abid Ali lbw b Lahiru Kumara38667157.58
Azhar Ali b Vishwa Fernando02000.00
Babar Azam st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya60968162.50
Asad Shafiq c Vishwa Fernando b Lahiru Kumara631266050.00
Haris Sohail lbw b Lasith Embuldeniya9300130.00
Mohammad Rizwan b Lahiru Kumara4210200.00
Yasir Shah lbw b Lahiru Kumara01000.00
Mohammad Abbas c Dhananjaya de Silva b Lasith Embuldeniya09000.00
Shaheen Shah Afridi c Angelo Mathews b Lasith Embuldeniya591055.56
Naseem Shah not out1100100.00
Extras6 (b 4 , lb 2 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total191/10 (59.3 Overs, RR: 3.21)
Fall of Wickets 1-10 (6.1) Shan Masood, 2-10 (6.3) Azhar Ali, 3-65 (20.3) Abid Ali, 4-127 (39.5) Babar Azam, 5-167 (51.5) Haris Sohail, 6-172 (52.2) Mohammad Rizwan, 7-172 (52.3) Yasir Shah, 8-179 (55.5) Mohammad Abbas, 9-185 (58.1) Asad Shafiq, 10-191 (59.3) Shaheen Shah Afridi,
Vishwa Fernando1333122.38
Lahiru Kumara1854942.72
Dimuth Karunaratne1011011.00
Lasith Embuldeniya20.337143.50
Dilruwan Perera702303.29
Oshada Fernando c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi4190021.05
Dimuth Karunaratne b Mohammad Abbas25424059.52
Kusal Mendis c Haris Sohail b Mohammad Abbas13271048.15
Angelo Mathews c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi13441029.55
Lasith Embuldeniya c Asad Shafiq b Mohammad Abbas13341038.24
Dinesh Chandimal c Shan Masood b Haris Sohail7414310051.75
Dhananjaya de Silva c Mohammad Abbas b Shaheen Shah Afridi32562157.14
Niroshan Dickwella b Mohammad Abbas21353060.00
Dilruwan Perera lbw b Shaheen Shah Afridi48846157.14
Vishwa Fernando not out5320015.62
Lahiru Kumara b Shaheen Shah Afridi02000.00
Extras23 (b 4 , lb 10 , nb 3, w 6, pen 0)
Total271/10 (85.5 Overs, RR: 3.16)
Fall of Wickets 1-28 (6.2) Oshada Fernando, 2-39 (12.2) Dimuth Karunaratne, 3-61 (16.2) Kusal Mendis, 4-78 (26.3) Lasith Embuldeniya, 5-80 (29.1) Angelo Mathews, 6-147 (47.3) Dhananjaya de Silva, 7-184 (58.6) Niroshan Dickwella, 8-235 (72.5) Dinesh Chandimal, 9-271 (85.3) Dilruwan Perera, 10-271 (85.5) Lahiru Kumara,
Shaheen Shah Afridi26.557752.91
Mohammad Abbas2795542.04
Naseem Shah1617104.44
Yasir Shah1304303.31
Haris Sohail301113.67
Shan Masood c Oshada Fernando b Lahiru Kumara1351987368.18
Abid Ali lbw b Lahiru Kumara17428121161.92
Azhar Ali st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya11815713075.16
Babar Azam not out1001318176.34
Mohammad Rizwan not out211920110.53
Extras7 (b 0 , lb 5 , nb 0, w 2, pen 0)
Total555/3 (131 Overs, RR: 4.24)
Fall of Wickets 1-278 (68.3) Shan Masood, 2-355 (90.1) Abid Ali, 3-503 (123.1) Azhar Ali,
Vishwa Fernando24210504.38
Lahiru Kumara29513924.79
Lasith Embuldeniya50419313.86
Dilruwan Perera2119404.48
Dhananjaya de Silva701902.71

Dimuth Karunaratne c Mohammad Rizwan b Mohammad Abbas16282057.14
Oshada Fernando not out10217513058.29
Kusal Mendis c Babar Azam b Naseem Shah04000.00
Angelo Mathews c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi19331057.58
Dinesh Chandimal lbw b Naseem Shah229006.90
Dhananjaya de Silva b Yasir Shah08000.00
Niroshan Dickwella b Haris Sohail657611085.53
Dilruwan Perera c Mohammad Rizwan b Naseem Shah581062.50
Extras3 (b 0 , lb 3 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total212/7 (60 Overs, RR: 3.53)
Fall of Wickets 1-39 (9.4) Dimuth Karunaratne, 2-40 (10.3) Kusal Mendis, 3-70 (20.4) Angelo Mathews, 4-96 (30.1) Dinesh Chandimal, 5-97 (31.5) Dhananjaya de Silva, 6-201 (57.3) Niroshan Dickwella, 7-212 (60.1) Dilruwan Perera,
Shaheen Shah Afridi1435113.64
Mohammad Abbas1223312.75
Naseem Shah11.133132.79
Yasir Shah1928414.42
Haris Sohail401012.50

>>Click Here For More Cricket News<<