Moors complete breathtaking run chase to lift SLC Major T20

SLC Major T20 - Final


The dark horses of the SLC Major T20 tournament, Moors SC, went on to clinch the title when they secured a last ball win over a much fancied NCC outfit today.

Photos: Moors SC vs NCC | Final | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Being sent in to bat, NCC posted a competitive 173/7 in their allotted 20 overs, with the young and promising Pathum Nissanka stroking a half century. The calm and composed Nissanka took just 38 balls for his 52, stroking six classical boundaries.

Mahela Udawatte also chipped in with 31 while Dinesh Chandimal and Chathuranga de Silva made useful contributions(20 each).

Soldiers go down despite Ashan Randika’s whirlwind century

Moors SC and NCC booked their respective places in the final of the SLC Major T20…

For Moors it was their big left-arm quick Adeesha Thilanchana amongst the wickets once again, as he captured 3/30 to pull back things to a certain extent.

Moors who hunted down 190 against Army in the semifinal with ease were up against it in the 12th over, as half of their side were back in the pavilion with the score reading 88/5.

It was down to their hero from the semi-final Nimanda Subasinghe to turn things around once again, as he smashed 47 off just 23 balls inclusive of four massive sixes.

His dismissal though led to a mini collapse as Moors was left with 16 to get off the final over with two wickets in hand.

>>Photos: Moors SC Cricket Team Preview 2018/19<<

NCC threw the ball to their man who defended 11 runs in the semi-final, right-arm leg spinner Saranga Rajaguru, but he was hit for two sixes off the second and third deliveries of the final over(2 off the first ball) as Moors needed just 2 runs off 3 balls.

The man who hit those lusty blows Shiran Fernando tried to sneak a single off the fourth ball only to see his partner Ayana Siriwardhane run-out without facing a ball.

CCC secure semi-final spot after super over

CCC, NCC, Army SC and Moors SC secured their respective spots in the semi-finals…

Last man Chanuk Dilshan knocked a single off the fifth ball before Shiran Fernando managed to scamper a single off the final ball to secure a dramatic win, as Moors came from no where to lift the title at the P.Sara Oval.

Nondescripts Cricket Club173/7 (20) Pathum Nissanka 52, Mahela Udawatte 31, Chaturanga De Silva 20, Dinesh Chandimal 20, Adeesha Thilanchana 3/30
Moors Sports Club174/9 (20) Nimanda Subasinghe 47, Ramesh Mendis 37, Adeesha Thilanchana 26, Dilesh Gunaratne 3/18 Chaturanga De Silva 2/20


Full Scorecard

Nondescripts Cricket Club


(20 overs)


Moors Sports Club


(20 overs)

Nondescripts Cricket Club’s Innings

Lahiru Udara c Thilanchana b Subasinghe1915
Dinesh Chandimal b Thilanchana2019
Hasitha Boyagoda c Samarasooriya b Siriwardhana46
Mahela Udawatte c Siriwardhana b SA Fernando3124
Pathum Nissanka c Dilshan b Thilanchana5238
Chathuranga de Silva c Siriwardhana b Thilanchana2012
Saranga Rajaguru (runout) Fernando12
Malinga Amarasinghe not out74
Sachinda Colombage not out41
15 (b 2, lb 6, nb 1, w 6)
173/7 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-34 (LU Igalagamage, 4.3 ov), 2-46 (LD Chandimal, 5.6 ov), 3-63 (H Boyagoda, 7.3 ov), 4-118 (ML Udawatte, 14.2 ov), 5-159 (PC de Silva, 18.3 ov), 6-161 (P Nissanka, 18.6 ov), 7-162 (KASN Rajaguru, 19.2 ov)
Chanuk Dilshan30270 9.00
Shiran Fernando40341 8.50
Adeesha Thilanchana40303 7.50
Nimanda Madushanka20221 11.00
Tharindu Kaushal20190 9.50
Ayana Siriwardhana30191 6.33
Ramesh Mendis20140 7.00

Moors Sports Club’s Innings

Charitha Kumarasinghe c Rajaguru b Gunarathne99
Irosh Samarasooriya c Nissanka b de Silva129
Chamara Silva c Rajaguru b de Silva99
Ramesh Mendis c Gunarathne b Amarasinghe3737
Tharindu Kaushal (runout) Amarasinghe00
Adeesha Thilanchana c Boyagoda b Colombage2622
Nimanda Madushanka c Nissanka b Gunarathne4723
Anuk Fernando c Igalagamage b Gunarathne14
Ayana Siriwardhana (runout) Amarasinghe00
Shiran Fernando not out166
Chanuk Dilshan not out11
16 (b 3, lb 7, w 6)
174/9 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-26 (ISS Samarasooriya, 2.4 ov), 2-33 (CD Kumarasinghe, 3.3 ov), 3-38 (LPC Silva, 4.4 ov), 4-39 (PHT Kaushal, 5.1 ov), 5-88 (A Thilanchana, 11.2 ov), 6-148 (RTM Mendis, 17.3 ov), 7-157 (NM Subasinghe, 18.4 ov), 8-157 (SANJ Fernando, 18.5 ov), 9-172 (A Siriwadhana, 19.4 ov)
Chathuranga de Silva40202 5.00
Sachinda Colombage20301 15.00
Dilesh Gunarathne41183 4.50
Nishan Peiris30220 7.33
Malinga Amarasinghe40381 9.50
Saranga Rajaguru30360 12.00