Soldiers go down despite Ashan Randika’s whirlwind century

SLC Major T20 - semifinals

SLC Major T20 - semifinals

Moors SC and NCC booked their respective places in the final of the SLC Major T20 tournament when they beat Army SC and CCC today (25).

Army vs Moors

Ashan Randika hit a mesmerizing 117 off just 59 balls, but it wasn’t enough for Army SC who couldn’t deal with a commanding batting effort by Moors SC.

Known as ‘gora’ in the domestic circuit, Randika hit 5 sixes and 14 fours in a breathtaking knock, but didn’t get much support from the other end as the next best score was Asela Gunaratne’s 17 in a total of 186/6.

Photos: Air Force SC v Army SC | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Chamara Silva guided Moors SC with an unbeaten 46* off just 23 balls – while in the process he also became the highest run getter of the tournament with 249 runs – in the run chase, but it was Nimanda Madusanka’s clean striking that helped Moors reach the target with almost 3 overs to spare.

Nimanda Madusanka also remained unbeaten on 46*, but his knock came off just 17 balls inclusive of five towering sixes.

Army Cricket Club 186/6 (20) Ashan Randika 117
Moors Sports Club 190/4 (17.1) Chamara Silva 46*, Nimanda Madushanka 46*, Charitha Kumarasinghe 41, Adeesha Thilanchana 33

Photos: Moors SC vs Army SC | Semi-Final | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19


Neighboring clubs NCC and CCC played out a thriller of a semifinal at P. Sara Oval, with the former emerging victorious by just one run.

NCC posted 142/9 batting first on a tricky surface with Mahela Udawatte top scoring with 48 and Dinesh Chandimal chipping in with a useful 31.

CCC secure semi-final spot after super over

CCC, NCC, Army SC and Moors SC secured their respective spots in the semi-finals of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC)

Ashan Priyanjan and Wanindu Hasaranga captured two wickets apiece for CCC.

Hasaranga wasn’t down yet as he hit a fluent 38 with the bat, but it wasn’t enough for CCC who could muster only 141/9 in their allotted 20 overs.

It was right arm leg-spinner Saranga Rajaguru who derailed the CCC run chase with 3/24, while also bowling a superb final over conceding just 9 runs and picking up the key scalp of Lahiru Madushanka who hit him for a six off the first ball of the final over.

Photos: CCC vs NCC | Semi-Final | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Nondescripts Cricket Club142/9 (20) Mahela Udawatte 48, Dinesh Chandimal 31, Ashan Priyanjan 2/18, Wanindu Hasaranga 2/19
Colombo Cricket Club141/9 (20) Wanindu Hasaranga 38, Dilshan Munaweera 25, Saranga Rajaguru 3/24, Dilesh Gunaratne 2/24, Sachintha Peiris 2/27, Sachinda Colombage 2/28