CCC secure semi-final spot after super over

SLC Major T20


CCC, NCC, Army SC and Moors SC secured their respective spots in the semi-finals of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Major T20 tournament today(23). 

CCC vs Ragama (CCC won super over)

CCC held their nerve to secure a super over win over Ragama CC, who won four out of their five matches in the group stage.

Lahiru Samarakoon heroics in vain as Tamil Union cruise to victory

The group stage of the SLC Major T20 concluded today (21st February), with six games being worked off around…

With 10 to get off the final over, Malinda Pushpakumara held his nerve as he made sure he conceded just 9 runs to drag the game to a super over. 

Earlier in the day, CCC posted 160/6 as Madawa Warnapura top scored with 36, before Ragama replied with 160/8. 

Colombo Cricket Club160/6 (20) Madawa Warnapura 36, Ashan Priyanjan 31, Lahiru Madushanka 26*, Nishan Pieris 2/28

Ragama Cricket Club160/8 (20) Janith Liyanage 41 Roshen Silva 36, Dineth Thimodya 35,Malinda Pushpakumara 2/37

Photos: CCC vs Ragama CC | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

NCC vs Tamil Union

A classy knock of 94 by Lahiru Udara guided NCC to a commanding 55 run victory over Tamil Union. 

Photos: Tamil Union C & AC vs NCC | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Chathuranga de Silva also hit 56 in NCC’s 184/7, before Tamil Union were bowled out for 139 with Lahiru Milantha making a half century. 

Nondescripts Cricket Club184/7 (20) Lahiru Udara 94, Chaturanga de Silva 56, Pramod Madushan 3/25 

Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club139 (16.3) Lahiru Milantha 61, Jeewan Mendis 36, Dilesh Gunarathne 3/28, Chaturanga de Silva 3/12

Army SC vs Chilaw Marians

Seekuge Prasanna’s dream run continued as he hit a flamboyant 61, before returning with the ball to capture 3/25. 

Photos: Ragama CC Vs. Air Force SC | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19 | Viraj Kothalawala | 19/02/2019 Editing and re-using images without permission of…

His knock enabled the Soldiers to rack up 173/8, with Asela Gunaratne also making a half century. 

Chilaw Marians made only 122 in reply as Janaka Sampath captured three wickets for Army SC. 

Army Cricket Club173/8 (20) Seekkuge Prasanna 61, Asela Gunarathne 40, Himasha Liyanage 30, Thikshila de Silva 3/35, Chatura Randunu 2/23 

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club122 (15.4)Thikshila de Silva 38, Irosh Samarasooriya 21, Janaka Sampath 3/14, Seekkuge Prasanna 3/25, Dushan Vimukthi 2/26

Photos: Army SC vs Chillaw Marians CC – Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Galle CC vs Moors SC 

The only remaining tier B team of the tournament, Galle CC, bowed out of the tournament as they went down by four wickets against Moors SC.

Photos: Moors SC vs Galle CC | Major T20 Tournament 2018/19

Galle mustered only 131/9 batting first before Moors reached their target with eight balls to spare. 

Shiran Fernando was the star with the ball for Moors SC capturing 3/25, while Pabasara Waduge top scored with 31 in the run chase.

Galle Cricket Club131/9 (20) Sameen Kandanearachchi 43, Lakshan Rodrigo 19, Kevin Kothigoda 19, Shiran Fernando 3/25, Adeesha Thilanchana 2/24 
Moors Sports Club132/6 (18.4) Pabasara Waduge 31, Chamara Silva 39, Irosh Samarasooriya 24, Rajeev Weerasinghe 2/21