Teejay Lanka led by Lasith Malinga emerged champions of the MCA ‘A’ division 2017/18 knockout tournament, when they defeated LB Finance by 82 runs on the Duckworth Lewis method in the final played at the MCA grounds in Colombo today(29). 

After being sent in to bat first, Teejay Lanka were in a spot of bother at 116/6 when Dilan Jayalath fell right after making his half century. LB Finance were well in control at that stage but that’s when Shalika Karunanayake and Sachithra Senanayake decided to counter attack.

Karunanayake hit 8 towering sixes in his knock of 68 off just 40 balls, ripping the LB Finance bowlers to all parts of the ground while Senanayake tried to keep up with his partner striking 6 sixes in his half century. The duo added 101 runs in 64 balls which eventually proved to be the difference as they helped Teejay Lanka post 266 all out in a game reduced to 42 overs due to a wet outfield.

Charith Sudharaka bowled best for LB Finance picking up 2/39 in his 9 overs, while Sahan Arachchige picked up 3/53 in 6 overs.

Photo Album – MCA Premier League – Knock out Final – Teejay Lanka v LB Finance

LB Finance looked to stay ahead of the D/L rate but a cluster of wickets at the top of the order put their run chase in disarray. Kusal Mendis looked in decent nick striking a couple of sixes before he was undone by some canny bowling by Senanayake, who went on to pick up three wickets to cap off a brilliant all round performance.

With the heavens almost starting to open up, Teejay Lanka tried to make sure they bowled the 20 overs to constitute a match and have a result of it. The skipper Lasith Malinga in-fact decided to bowl some off spinners with hardly any run up to the crease. He managed to complete the 20 overs just before the umpires called off play, while also picking up three wickets with his right arm off spin.

LB Finance eventually crumbled to 125/7 in 25 overs when the umpires decided to call off play, thus handing a much deserved 82 run win on D/L for Teejay Lanka. Shalika Karunanayake was named man of the match for his match winning half century.

Teejay Lanka – 266 all out (38.4 overs) Shalika Karunanayake 68, Sachithra Senanayake 67, Dilan Jayalath 51, Charith Sudharaka 2/39, Sahan Arachchige 3/53

LB Finance – 125/7 (25 overs) Sahan Arachchige 26, Priyamal Perera 24*, Kusal Mendis 24, Lasith Malinga 3/22, Sachithra Senanayake 3/35