Home Cricket National Cricket Karunaratne and batsmen guide Sri Lanka ‘A’ to first win

Karunaratne and batsmen guide Sri Lanka ‘A’ to first win

Some respite for the visiting Sri Lanka ‘A’ team as fast-bowling all-rounder Chamika Karunaratne and batsmen guided them to a 13-run win (D/L method) over India ‘A’ team in the third unofficial game in Belgaum on Monday. 

The visiting skipper Ashan Priyanjan won the toss and elected to field first. The openers got off to a brisk start. Ishan Kishan and Prashant Chopra were untroubled by the new ball seamers.

Sri Lanka ‘A’ annihilated despite Jayasuriya’s second century

But, it was Chamika Karunaratne who found the first breakthrough in the 14th over. He was the pick of the bowlers by far. He showed good discipline and earned rewards as the game progressed. The second wicket was also taken by the seamer as he dismissed Ricky Bhui for 2.

It was the 3rd wicket partnership which really hurt the visitors. Deepak Hooda and Chopra added 109 runs in just 93 balls. It was once again Karunaratne who came back and broke the partnership by taking the wicket of Chopra after a well made 125 runs.

The Lankans failed to stop the run flow. While the rest of the bowlers struggled, Karunaratne stood up and bowled with real control. He dismissed the top five batsmen and ended up with figures of 5 for 35 off his 10 overs. 

The Indians managed to reach 291 in their allocated 50 overs thanks to a quick cameo by Washington Sundar at the death overs. 

Sri Lankans needed a good start with their openers and finally, their openers fired. Niroshan Dickwella showed glimpses of his best as he stroked a quick-fire 62 at the top. He and Cooray laid the foundation to the chase. After Dickwella lost his wicket Sadeera Samarawickrama who came in at number three followed soon after for just 3 runs. Sri Lankans needed to rebuild and they did so with in-form Shehan Jayasuriya. He and Cooray managed to put 110 runs for the 3rd wicket. 

Skipper Ashan Priyanjan failed to trouble the scores as he perished for a first ball duck. However, Dasun Shanaka managed to come out and play with freedom and together with Jayasuriya, the pair managed to be ahead of the par score at all times. Finally, when the rain got heavier and play stopped, the visitors were 13 runs ahead of the game. 

India ‘A’ lead the five-match series, 2-1.


Sri Lanka A Team
265/4 (43.4)
India A Team
291/8 (50)
Ishan Kishan c Shehan Jayasuriya b Chamika Karunaratne25323078.12
Prashant Chopra c Sangeeth Cooray b Chamika Karunaratne129125170103.20
Ricky Bhui c Niroshan Dickwella b Chamika Karunaratne2130015.38
Deepak Hooda c Kamindu Mendis b Chamika Karunaratne53643082.81
Shivam Dube c Sadeera Samarawickrama b Chamika Karunaratne28361077.78
Anmolpreet Singh c Ishan Jayaratne b Lahiru Kumara470057.14
Washington Sundar b Ishan Jayaratne261812144.44
Shreyas Gopal run out (Sangeeth Cooray)3300100.00
Mayank Markande not out2200100.00
Extras19 (b 0 , lb 9 , nb 0, w 10, pen 0)
Total291/8 (50 Overs, RR: 5.82)
Fall of Wickets 1-72 (13.2) Ishan Kishan, 2-94 (17.6) Ricky Bhui, 3-246 (43.3) Deepak Hooda, 4-252 (45.1) Anmolpreet Singh, 5-265 (46.6) Shivam Dube, 6-271 (48.2) Shreyas Gopal, 7-291 (49.6) Washington Sundar,
Ishan Jayaratne1007017.00
Lahiru Kumara1006116.10
Dasun Shanaka201708.50
Chamika Karunaratne1003653.60
Shehan Jayasuriya10707.00
Kamindu Mendis704105.86
Lakshan Sandakan1005005.00

Niroshan Dickwella c Ishan Kishan b Shivam Dube6258100106.90
Sangeeth Cooray c Prashant Chopra b Sandeep Warrier8810310085.44
Sadeera Samarawickrama b Shivam Dube5140035.71
Shehan Jayasuriya not out65672297.01
Ashan Priyanjan b Shreyas Gopal01000.00
Dasun Shanaka not out362213163.64
Extras9 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 3, w 6, pen 0)
Total265/4 (43.4 Overs, RR: 6.07)
Fall of Wickets 1-82 (16.6) Niroshan Dickwella, 2-93 (20.3) Sadeera Samarawickrama, 3-202 (36.4) Sangeeth Cooray, 4-204 (37.4) Ashan Priyanjan,
Ishan Porel622203.67
Sandeep Warrier7074110.57
Washington Sundar703304.71
Shivam Dube6.402624.06
Deepak Hooda803704.62
Mayank Markande402706.75
Shreyas Gopal504619.20

>>For More Cricket Click Here<<