Home Cricket National Cricket Sri Lanka thump Bangladesh after Wanindu all-round effort

Sri Lanka thump Bangladesh after Wanindu all-round effort

Sri Lanka Emerging team tour of Bangladesh 2019 – 1st Unofficial ODI


A commanding all-round performance by the Sri Lanka Emerging team helped them register a thumping 186-run win over their Bangladesh counterparts in the 1st of the 3-match Unofficial ODI series in Savar today (18th).

Skipper Charith Asalanka elected to bat first after winning the toss, something which was not in their favour back in South Africa where they lost the few matches they batted first and won many chasing. However, the familiar sub-continent conditions in Bangladesh was ideal for the Lankan batsmen.

Sri Lanka Emerging team clinch tri-series with comfortable win

The Sri Lanka Emerging team beat the University Sports South…

The playing XI was almost the same which featured in South Africa except for the bowling line-up which had some new faces in Malinga-like Nuwan Thushara and Shiran Fernando along with all-rounder Jehan Daniel.

Openers Pathum Nissanka and Sandun Weerakkody provided a quick start as they put up 48 runs in just 6 overs before they were separated in the 7th over. The early advantage was smartly utilized by the skipper as he anchored the innings batting at number 3.

He accumulated runs with a couple of handy partnerships with Sammu Ashan and Kamindu Mendis to set a perfect platform for the lower-middle order to come in and go hard at the bowlers. Following his dismissal for 71 in the 36th over, hard-hitting Wanindu De Silva walked in ahead of Ashen Bandara and just demolished the Bangladeshi attack.

Wanindu, scoring 70 runs in just 46 deliveries with 3 sixes and 7 boundaries, provided Sri Lanka the impetus to go past 300. In a 48-run 6th wicket stand in just 29 deliveries Wanindu was well supported by Bandara who remained unbeaten on 29 off 17 as Sri Lanka ended their innings on 304/7 after 50 overs.

The run-chase for Bangladesh never got going as lanky right-arm seamer Shiran Fernando picked up 2 quick wickets including the Bangladeshi skipper, Test cap Najmul Hossain. 

Bangladesh T20I cap, 19-year old Afif Hossain and opener Saif Hassan then built the best partnership of the Bangladesh innings, 32 runs for the 4th wicket, to bring some sort of hope for the home camp. It was not to last long however as Amila Aponso shattered them with a timely double strike to seal the Sri Lankan dominance.

Wanidu makes SL Emerging squad to Bangladesh

A media conference ahead of Team Sri Lanka’s departure..

Leg spinner Wanindu De Silva, who was introduced to the attack last, took the match under his control with the ball picking up 4 of the last 5 wickets, just like how he did it with the bat. Interestingly, Wanindu was also a last minute inclusion to the squad replacing injured leg-spinner Sachindu Colombage.

Slinging pacie, Nuwan Thushara picked up 2 wickets.

The two teams will now meet on the 21st of this month at the same venue.


Sri Lanka Emerging Team
304/7 (50)
Bangladesh Emerging Team
118/10 (28.3)
Pathum Nissanka lbw b Shafiqul Islam181830100.00
Sandun Weerakkody b Shafiqul Islam312450129.17
Charith Asalanka c Saif Hassan b Afif Hossain71797289.87
Sammu Ashan b Aminul Islam33704047.14
Kamindu Mendis c Najmul Hossain Shanto b Yeasin Arafat28401070.00
Wanindu Hasaranga c Mohammad Naim b Shahidul Islam704673152.17
Ashen Bandara not out291731170.59
Jehan Daniel c Mahidul Islam Ankon b Shahidul Islam8610133.33
Shiran Fernando not out2200100.00
Extras14 (b 0 , lb 1 , nb 2, w 11, pen 0)
Total304/7 (50 Overs, RR: 6.08)
Fall of Wickets 1-48 (6.1) Pathum Nissanka, 2-59 (8.1) Sandun Weerakkody, 3-144 (28.6) Sammu Ashan, 4-172 (35.2) Charith Asalanka, 5-226 (42.6) Kamindu Mendis, 6-274 (47.5) Wanindu Hasaranga, 7-289 (49.1) Jehan Daniel,
Shahidul Islam1007127.10
Yeasin Arafat1008918.90
Shafiqul Islam712223.14
Nayeem Hasan1015005.00
Afif Hossain502815.60
Aminul Islam804315.38

Saif Hassan c Charith Asalanka b Wanindu Hasaranga50706071.43
Mohammad Naim c Sandun Weerakkody b Shiran Fernando5510100.00
Najmul Hossain Shanto c & b Shiran Fernando891088.89
Yasir Ali c Sandun Weerakkody b Nuwan Thushara011000.00
Afif Hossain lbw b Amila Aponso19333057.58
Aminul Islam b Amila Aponso01000.00
Mahidul Islam Ankon c Pathum Nissanka b Wanindu Hasaranga10211047.62
Nayeem Hasan c Sandun Weerakkody b Wanindu Hasaranga180012.50
Shahidul Islam b Wanindu Hasaranga01000.00
Yeasin Arafat c Ashen Bandara b Nuwan Thushara112008.33
Shafiqul Islam not out00000.00
Extras24 (b 4 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 20, pen 0)
Total118/10 (28.3 Overs, RR: 4.14)
Fall of Wickets 1-18 (2.3) Mohammad Naim, 2-38 (4.5) Najmul Hossain Shanto, 3-49 (7.5) Yasir Ali, 4-82 (16.1) Afif Hossain, 5-82 (16.2) Aminul Islam, 6-104 (23.4) Mahidul Islam Ankon, 7-112 (25.1) Nayeem Hasan, 8-112 (25.2) Shahidul Islam, 9-118 (27.6) Saif Hassan, 10-118 (28.3) Yeasin Arafat,
Shiran Fernando622824.67
Jehan Daniel2022011.00
Nuwan Thushara4.302124.88
Amila Aponso702523.57
Kamindu Mendis31602.00
Wanindu Hasaranga631242.00