Nilakshi de Silva’s captain’s knock guides the Reds to victory

SLC Women's Super Four 50 Over Tournament 2022


In the second game of the Women’s Super 4 limited overs tournament, SLC Reds led by Nilakshi de Silva faced SLC Greens led by Anushka Sanjeewani. In this encounter which took place at the BRC grounds, the Reds cruised to a comfortable win after skipper de Silva scored a brilliant century.

Reds who won the toss and elected to bat first made 209 in their 50 overs after skipper Nilakshi de Silva led the way with a classy century which is also the first one of the tournament. De Silva scored 110 off 126 balls and registered sevens fours and two sixes. Sachini Nisansala who provided much-needed support to the skipper in the middle order made a vital 37 after facing 59 balls. The pair of de Silva and Nisansala put together a 116-run stand for the sixth wicket. Rashmi Silva was the highest wicket-taker for Greens with figures of 3 for 51 but the bowler who shined was Nimesha Madushani as she ended the game with figures of 2 for 21 in her 10 overs.

In reply to the target set by the Reds, the Greens lost their first 4 wickets inside the first 6 overs and they were never really able to recover from that start. Tharika Sewwandi who caused a lot of trouble with the new ball dismissed 3 top-order batters of the Greens for zero and set the tone for the Reds as rest of the bowlers also chipped in with regular wickets after that. Hasini Perera and Piumi Wathsala tried to bring some life into the Green’s chase but unfortunately, the job was a bit too much for them. Greens could only score 116 in their 50 overs giving the Reds a 93-run win. Hasini Perera top scored with 24 and Piumi Wathsala made 23 for the Greens. In bowling for the Reds, Sewwandi took 4 wickets for just 13 runs in her 10 overs and Tharuka Shehani clinched a 2fer.

The next game of the super four tournament will be between Blues and Greens who lost their opening games on the 19th of November. Keep in touch with ThePapare.Com for all the latest developments of the tournament.