Here’s a brief roundup of the matches which took place today in the SLC Tier B Premier League Tournament.

Police SC vs Kalutara PCC

Left arm tweaker Ruchira Tharindra’s 7 wicket haul in the second innings helped KPCC come back strongly into the game after conceding a 96 run first innings lead to Police SC.

KPCC resuming on their overnight score of 39/1, were sitting pretty at 90/2 before their batting fell apart and lost their last 8 wickets for the addition of just 49 runs.  The hero from day 1 for Police, Suwanji Madanayake, and Kalyana Rathnapriya picked up three wickets apiece.

Police SC had a horrible start to their 2nd innings losing two wickets in the first over and they never really recovered as they were shot out for just 85 runs. Tharindra bowling a brilliant spell of left arm orthodox ended with top figures of 7/31.

KPCC in pursuit of their victory target of 182 ended day two on 41/2 with Damidu Ashan unbeaten on 21. Madanayake picked up both the wickets to fall for Police SC.

Police SC – 235 (70.1) S Madanayake 96*, S Dushantha 45, A Lakshan 31,Jasdeep Singh 4/38, T Dhananjaya 3/47, GWRT Silva 2/51

KPCC – 139 (67 overs) D Ashan 34, S Madanayake 3/37, WWAKR Fernando 3/45

Police SC 85(25.3 overs) RMT Dilshan 27, GWRT Silva 7/31, J Singh 2/29

KPCC 41/2(10 overs) D Ashan 21*, S Madanayake 2/09

Kalutara TC vs Navy SC

Navy SC took control of their game against Kalutara TC thanks to a 116 run stand for the 8th wicket between Dinushka Malan And Ishan Abeysekara while the former went on to make a brilliant century.

Navy resuming on their overnight score of 167/6 went on to make 350 all-out. Ishan Abeysekara also made a valuable contribution as he remained unbeaten on 80.

Mangala Kumara continued the good day for left arm spinners as he ended up with a seven wicket haul. KTC were 165/5 in their second innings when stumps were drawn for day two, still trailing by 42 runs.

KTC – 143 (42.4 overs) TDNT Siriwardena 33, HGS Dakshina 4/09, A Ranasinghe 2/16, I Abeysekara 2/24

Navy SC 350 (85.2 overs) A Ranasinghe 79, D Malan 113,I Abeysekara 80*,KMP Kumara 7/98

KTC165/5 (47 overs) N Gamage 50, TDTN Siriwardene 45, HGS Dakshina 2/50

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC vs Lankan CC

Chanaka Komasaru and Chaminda Bandara shared seven wickets between them to bundle out Lankan CC for 108 runs in their first innings. Chanaka Ruwansiri was the only man to show some resistance as he made a valuable 43 runs.

SLPACC took control of the game from then on as they dominated the rest of the day’s play to end day two on 228/5 with an overall lead of 368 runs. Yohan De Silva and Ishan Rangana made half centuries while Gihan Rupasinghe chipped in with 40 runs.

SLPACC 248 (81. 2 overs) WAI Rangana 69, EMCD Edirisinghe 44*, WWAG Maneeshan 31, DRF Weerasinghe 4/87, NM Kavikara 3/60, ABLD Rodrigo 3/28

Lankan CC 108(37.3 overs) S Fernando 34, LAC Ruwansiri 43, NC Komasaru 4/16,KMC Bandara 3/56

SLPACC 228/4 (62 overs) KY De Silva 90, WAI Rangana 70, RJMGM Rupasinghe 40, LAC Ruwansiri 2/65