Home Cricket National Cricket Sri Lanka lose inaugural Women’s Emerging Asia Cup final

Sri Lanka lose inaugural Women’s Emerging Asia Cup final

Women’s Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2019

India women secured the inaugural Women’s Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2019 championship as they registered a 14-run victory against Sri Lanka today (29) in the final at the R Premadasa International stadium.

Read More : Harshitha stars again as Sri Lanka cruise to the finals

The Indian Emerging team qualified to the final beating Sri Lanka and Pakistan in the group stages, while Sri Lanka sneaked past Bangladesh with a victory against them and a higher net run rate.

Indian skipper Davika Vaidya won the toss and decided to bat in the crucial fixture, but soon the Sri Lanka bowlers were all over the visitors as they were reduced to 5 for 54 in the 19th over. 18 year old spinner, Kavisha Dilhari, who has already played 10 internationals for Sri Lanka, was the chief destroyer of the Indian top order as she ran through the Indians with 3 wickets, including the valuable scalp of opposition captain Devika Vaidya.

Read : SLC Men’s and Women’s squads for SAG 2019 announced

After the initial burst by the hosts, the Indians recovered well to post a total of 175 at the conclusion of 50 overs as their last 4 wickets contributed 90 runs with match defining knocks from Tanusree Sarkar (47) and Simran Bahadur (34). 17-year old from Seenigama Sachini Nisansala came to the party late in the innings with 2 wickets too.

The Sri Lanka innings could not be started in due time as the rains arrived and delayed the start of the 2nd innings by more than an hour. The Sri Lanka innings was eventually reduced to 35 overs and they were given a revised target of 150 runs according to the D/L method.

As it was in the group stages, the Sri Lanka top order, except for skipper Harsitha Madavi failed again in the chase, leaving it all to the skipper and lower order batters. Madavi, who scored back to back half centuries in the first two group stage games, took the responsibility of guiding Sri Lanka home again and made a composed 39 off 64 ball while managing important partnerships with the lower order.

Photos: India vs Sri Lanka | Women’s Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2019 – Finals

All rounders Lihini Apsara and Madushika Lakmali chipped in with useful cameos but that didn’t help Sri Lanka to cross the line as they fell short by 14 runs, handing India the inaugural Women’s Emerging Asia Cup victory. Tanujar Kanwar and Devika Vaidya registered 4 wickets each in the game.

>>Click Here For More Women’s Cricket News<<


Srilanka Emerging Women Team
135/10 (34.3)
India Emerging Women Team
175/9 (50)
Yastika Bhatia st Nilakshan Sandamini b Kavisha Dilhari18551132.73
Prativa Rana run out (Lihini Apsara)681075.00
Nuzhat Parween lbw b Madushika Methtananda6241025.00
Devika Vaidya c Imalka Mendis b Kavisha Dilhari6220027.27
Tejal Hasabnis c Hasini Perera b Kavisha Dilhari561083.33
Minnu Mani c Nilakshan Sandamini b Sachini Nisansala2180011.11
Tanusree Sarkar c Hasini Perera b Umesha Thimashini47754062.67
Sushree Dibyadarshani lbw b Sachini Nisansala14262053.85
Simarn Bahadur c Kavisha Dilhari b Sathya Sandeepani34513166.67
Manali Dakshini not out181710105.88
Tanuja Kanwar not out00000.00
Extras19 (b 5 , lb 6 , nb 2, w 6, pen 0)
Total175/9 (50 Overs, RR: 3.5)
Fall of Wickets 1-14 (4.2) Prativa Rana, 2-33 (11.6) Nuzhat Parween, 3-47 (16.2) Yastika Bhatia, 4-54 (18.5) Devika Vaidya, 5-54 (18.6) Tejal Hasabnis, 6-63 (24.4) Minnu Mani, 7-90 (30.6) Sushree Dibyadarshani, 8-140 (44.4) Tanusree Sarkar, 9-173 (49.5) Simarn Bahadur,
Tharika Sewwandi612604.33
Madushika Methtananda921812.00
Kavisha Dilhari1022732.70
Sathya Sandeepani923614.00
Sachini Nisansala902622.89
Umesha Thimashini703114.43

Hasini Perera run out (Simarn Bahadur)180012.50
Imalka Mendis lbw b Tanuja Kanwar11920122.22
Harshitha Madavi lbw b Devika Vaidya39643060.94
Sathya Sandeepani lbw b Tanuja Kanwar4110036.36
Umesha Thimashini b Devika Vaidya3150020.00
Kavisha Dilhari st Nuzhat Parween b Devika Vaidya6131046.15
Lihini Apsara c Nuzhat Parween b Devika Vaidya22402055.00
Madushika Methtananda b Tanuja Kanwar25293086.21
Nilakshan Sandamini lbw b Tanuja Kanwar250040.00
Tharika Sewwandi st Nuzhat Parween b Sushree Dibyadarshani690066.67
Sachini Nisansala not out3300100.00
Extras13 (b 2 , lb 2 , nb 0, w 9, pen 0)
Total135/10 (34.3 Overs, RR: 3.91)
Fall of Wickets 1-5 (1.4) Hasini Perera, 2-22 (3.1) Imalka Mendis, 3-28 (5.5) Sathya Sandeepani, 4-34 (9.5) Umesha Thimashini, 5-43 (13.2) Kavisha Dilhari, 6-91 (24.4) Lihini Apsara, 7-113 (30.2) Harshitha Madavi, 8-120 (31.5) Nilakshan Sandamini, 9-127 (33.1) Madushika Methtananda, 10-135 (34.3) Tharika Sewwandi,
Manali Dakshini602504.17
Tanusree Sarkar702603.71
Tanuja Kanwar711542.14
Devika Vaidya702944.14
Sushree Dibyadarshani6.302513.97
Simarn Bahadur1011011.00