In accordance to the event calendar of the SLHF as a footing milestone review of Sri Lanka Hockey, the executives have decided to organize an Inaugural Junior under 21 Women’s National Championship. The main reason to organize a tournament of such was to revive and develop Women’s Hockey.

>>Photos: U21 Junior Nationals Hockey Championship – Press Conferences<<

This tournament is organized & conducted by the Sri Lanka Hockey Federation (SLHF) and will be held from the 7th – 9th June 2019 at the Sports Ministry Astro Turf complex, Independence Mawatha, Colombo 7.

The affiliated member Associations of the SLHF, numbering 10 teams in which the cream of women’s hockey players represent various districts schools are amongst participants for this prestigious event. The participating teams are as follows:

  1. Matale
  2. Uva
  3. Kandy
  4. Wennapuwa
  5. Kalutara
  6. Gampaha
  7. Sri Lanka Schools Maroons
  8. Sri Lanka Schools Gold
  9. Galle
  10. Colombo

Eventually the target of this event is to identify the best talents from various corners of the country and recruit the best of the best to the national pool.

Read More : The breakout year; Sri Lanka Hockey on the front foot

Along with the National Championship the SLHF has organized the  AHF/FIH Coaching & Umpiring Course which commenced on 2nd June and will be concluded on  10th June 2019 at the National Olympic Committee Auditorium and at the Sports Ministry NISS Auditorium. More than 110 both Men & Women representing various Districts, Universities Associations etc. are among the participants for this course.

Read Also : St. Sylvester’s and Seethadevi win big at Kandy 6’s

Ten district teams have entered this tournament, these teams will be divided into two groups in each group and the teams will play each other on a league basis. The first two teams in each group will play across, the first two teams in the other group, and the winners will qualify for the finals.

The National Selection Committee for Hockey is not appointed as yet by the Ministry of Sports, as such it has been decided to appoint a Technical Committee consisting of past players who represented the Sri Lanka National team in International competitions representing from various districts. The appointed Technical Committee will select a Pool of 50- 55 players after the Championship.

Read : Savindu’s chip secures Thomian Reign

The Sri Lanka Under 21 Women’s Junior Team is expected to take part in the Women’s Junior AHF Cup 2019 which is to be held from the 9th to the 15th of September in Singapore. It is significant to note that this is the first occasion a total of more than 8 teams are to participate in this prestigious Junior Women’s AHF Cup, in the past only 3 to 5 teams have participated in this competition.

The top two teams from this tournament will qualify for the Women’s Junior Asia Cup 2020. The Women’s Junior Asia Cup 2020 is itself a qualifier for the Hockey Junior World Cup 2021. Furthermore, in the Junior Asia Cup 2020, the top two teams from the Junior AHF Cup 2019 will join the teams of China, Japan, Korea, India, Malaysia and Thailand who are qualified for participation directly based on their results in the Women’s Junior Asia Cup 2015.

The pool listing for the tournament is:

 Pool APool B
Chinese TaipeiBangladesh
KazakhstanHong Kong China
 Sri LankaUzbekistan

Stay logged onto for Photos, results and news from the Under 21 Junior Women’s National Hockey Championship 2019!

>>Click here for more Hockey News<<