The inaugural Vidyartha 6’s Hockey fiesta concluded successfully when the Masters of Kandy Hockey came together in representation of their alma maters for one last time.

Photo Album – Kandy Hockey Fiesta 2019

The tournament was held at the Digana Sports Club and was solely organized by the Old Boys’ Hockey Association of Vidyartha College.

The tournament was played for six titles –  Under 40, Over 50 and Over 60 in both Men’s and Women’s categories with 7 Girls’ schools and 8 Boys’ schools entering teams.

In the Girls’ age groups, Kandy Girls High School, Mahamaya Girls College, Pushpadana Girls College, Seethadevi Girls College, Sri Rahula College, St. Anthony’s Girls College and Swarnamali Girls College competed for the titles.

Berrewaerts College, Dharmaraja College, Kingswood College, Sri Sumangala College, St. Anthony’s Boy’s College, St. Sylvesters College, Trinity College and hosts Vidyartha College contended for the Boy’s titles.

Read More : The breakout year; Sri Lanka Hockey on the front foot


Hosts Vidyartha College and St. Sylvester’s College tied for the championship in the under 40 Men’s category. The Over 40 shield was won by Kingswood College, defeating St. Sylvester’s in the final.

The Over 50 category was ruled by St. Sylvester’s College when their ‘A’ and ‘B’ teams tied for the championship and settled with a Joint Championship.

Likewise, Seethadevi ‘A’ and ‘B’ teams settled with a Joint championship in the Under 30 Women’s category. Seethadevi defeated Mahamaya College in the final of the Over 30 age group to take home the shield.

Mahamaya Girls’ College later lost to the ladies from Pushpadana Girls College in the Over 40 category to conclude the day’s events.

>>Click here for more Hockey News<<