Akram & Supun put Trinity in a commanding position on day one

U19 Traditional Encounters 2022


Two traditional encounters of the U19 Schools Cricket tournament commenced today (29th April) at Colombo.

The traditional encounter between Royal College and Prince of Wales College is played for the Memorial Trophy named after Dr. O. L. F. Senarathne, the first from Prince of Wales College to represent Ceylon in cricket.

Having won the toss, Royal College opted to bat first but a disciplined bowling effort from Cambrians restricted them to 198 runs. The Royalist Sineth Jayawardana top-scored with a classy knock of 83 runs while Prince Fernando took 4 wickets for 36 runs for Prince of Wales College. In reply, Prince of Wales College made 71/4 as bad light brought early stumps on day one.

Trinity College dominated the first day’s play of their traditional encounter against Wesley College which commenced today at Wesley College Grounds, Colombo. Having won the toss, Trinity College posted 325/6 thanks to brilliant half-centuries made by Akram Muthalib (88*) and Supun Waduge (71).

Meanwhile, St. Joseph Vaz College managed to clinch the 11th Fraternal Battle played against St. Mary’s College today at Kadirana Cricket Grounds, Negombo. Having restricted the opposition to a low score of 87, St. Joseph Vaz College chased down the target with ease with 6 wickets in hand.

Brief Scores

Royal College, Colombo – 198 (51.3) Sineth Jayawardana 83, Uvindu Weerasekara 40, Damith Kappagoda 30, Prince Fernando 4/36, Uneth Peiris 3/49

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa – 71/4 (38) Suwahas Fernando 27

Stumps – Day 01

Trinity College, Kandy – 325/6 (87) Akram Muthalib 88*, Supun Waduge 71, Viduka Dhammage 46, Vibhawith Ehelepola 45*, Rahal Amarasinghe 32, Chamath Gomel 2/79

Stumps – Day 01

St. Marys College, Chilaw – 87 (32.4) Shavin Weerasooriya 25, Kaushan Wijerarthne 4/20, Dhanuka Nirmal 3/10, Menusha Perera 2/18

St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa – 88/4 (21.5) Chamath Yashohara 22, Shenol Appuhami 3/39

Result – St. Joseph Vaz College won by 6 wickets