Trinity, Mahinda & St. Joseph seal their semi-final spots

U19 Schools Cricket Tournament 2022/23


Three crucial quarter-finals of the ongoing U19 Schools Cricket Tournament ended today (9th March) in Colombo & Kandy while another knockout match commenced today at Colombo.

Trinity College progressed to the semis after beating Royal College at Asgiriya Grounds in Kandy.

After a disappointing 1st innings effort, Royal College batted well in the 2nd innings, posting 229 as they set a target of 149 for Trinity College to win. Ovina Ambanpola remained not out on 48 as their top scorer while Kaveen Heshan Gamage picked a 4-fer.

Eyeing on to seal their spot in the semis, Trinitians chased down the target comfortably in just 26.3 overs after losing 4 wickets. Vithila Udara took them over the line with a sparkling knock of 17-ball 38*.

St. Joseph-Wesley battle ended today at St. Joseph’s College Grounds with Josephians registering a 1st innings win & qualifying for the semi-final round.

From the overnight score of 218/9, this morning, St. Joseph’s College bowled out quickly for 232 runs. However, Wesley College’s response wasn’t threatened as they were blown away for a brief 135. Yenula Dewtusa was the major destroyer with the ball as he bagged a fifer.

With the first innings lead, Josephians batted far better with the skipper Sadeesh Jayawardane scoring a fine hundred while Sahan Dabare stroked a fifty. They were 199/3 in 40 overs before calling for the stumps as they went through to the semi-finals.

Another crucial QF game came to an end today with Mahinda College progressing to the semis at Colts Grounds in Colombo.

Isipathana College batted for a longer period but, weren’t able to pass Mahinda’s first innings score as they declared on 256/9. Mahinda College’s Tharusha Dilshan shined with the ball with a spell of 6/90.

So, in the end, the match ended in a draw, but Mahinda College progressed to the semi-final round because they stood higher than Thurstan College in the first round.

Brief Scores:

Royal College, Colombo 114 (46) Tharana Wimaladarma 3/21, Kaveen Heshan Gamage 3/22, Dinuka Thennakoon 3/29 & 229 (59) Ovina Ambanpola 48*, Uvindu Weerasekara 42, Kaveen Heshan 4/81

Trinity College, Kandy 195 (53) Lakwin Abeysinghe 44, Jayavi Liyanagama 29, Vathila Udara 28, Ranuka Malaviarachchi 5/21 & 150/4 (26.3) Vathila Udara 38*, Dinusha Peiris 38

Result: Trinity College won by 6 wickets.

St. Joseph’s College, Colombo 232 (108.3) Naren Muralitharan 67, Muditha Dissanayake 33, D.A.D.S Serasinghe 37, Uvin Perera 3/26 & 199/3 (40) Sadeesh Jayawardane 117, Sahan Dabare 52, Jathon Wyman 2/36

Wesley College, Colombo 135 (49.3) Linal Subasinghe 52, Sanithu Amarasinghe 28, Yenula Dewtusa 5/36

Result: Match Drawn (St. Joseph’s College won on 1st innings)

Mahinda College, Galle 300/8d (90) Dhanuja Induwara 84, Hareen Achintha 74, Hiruna Gallage 68, Tharushka Ashel 3/47

Isipathana College, Colombo 256/9d (104.3) Yuneth Seneviratne 54, Sithuka Gunawardane 39*, Tharusha Dilshan 6/90

Result: Match Drawn

St. Aloysius College, Galle 147 (57.2) Vidura Lakshan 53, Minuga Dulanmith 3/16, Thanuga Palihawadana 3/37

Thurstan College, Colombo 109/7 (37) Shanikya Deshapriya 27, Ushan Imesh 23, Oshada Devinda 3/10

Day 1 Stumps.

Lumbini College, Colombo 219 (61) Shahan Kaushalya 68, Yasiru Yugath 38, Kenula Pihilianga 8/59 & 150 (49) Pasindu Mahisha 36, Shahan Kaushalya 32, Kenula Pihilianga 5/36

Kingswood College, Kandy 68 (30.2) Yasiru Yugath 5/17, Dumindu Sewmina 4/26 & 62 (26.4) Shahan Kaushalya 4/18, Yasiru Yugath 3/19, Basika Sathmina 2/10

Result: Lumbini College won by 243 runs. 

<<< For More Schools Cricket News >>>