Trinity College crowned Division 1 Tier ‘A’ Champions

U19 Inter Schools Cricket Tournament 2022/23


Trinity College, Kandy emerged Champions of the U19 Inter Schools Division 1 Tier ‘A’ Limited Overs Cricket Tournament, as they defeated Richmond College, Galle by 41 runs (DLS) in the Final of the tournament played today (02nd December) at Thurstan College Grounds, Colombo.

Trinity College Skipper Rahal Amarasinghe won the toss and invited the Richmondites to bat first. Helith Edirisinghe and Thamindu Pradeeptha opened the batting for Richmond College, but the duo were unable to provide their team a good start as the former was trapped in front for just 6 runs when the scoreboard was at 19.

The Skipper Tharinda Nirmal also departed early after scoring only 5 runs, putting more pressure on Richmond middle order. One of the stars of Richmond batting lineup, Sri Lanka U19 cap Malsha Tharupathi, too was unable to rescue the Southern boys as he made only 5 runs.

Janeth Kaushal and Sharon Abhishek showed some resistance adding 34 runs for the 8th wicket, but the Richmondites were bowled out for below par score of 123 runs in 40.1 overs.

Theeraka Ranathunga (3/24) and Jayavi Liyanagama (2/10) starred with the ball for Trinity College, sharing 5 wickets between them.

In reply, Trinity College got off to a decent start as their opening pair Janith Ravishka and Rahal Amarasinghe put on a 46-run stand for the first wicket. After a solid start, Trinity College lost 3 quick wickets for 24 runs, but Amarasinghe’s 36-run knock and Ranathunga’s unbeaten 21 runs put their side on top in the run-chase.

When the scoreboard read at 109/4, the rain halted the play. Therefore, Trinity College was awarded the victory as they were well ahead in the game as per the Duckworth–Lewis–Stern method.

Brief Scores

Richmond College, Galle 123 (40.1) Sharon Abhishek 31, Janeth Kaushal 28, Theeraka Ranathunga 3/24, Jayavi Liyanagama 2/10

Trinity College, Kandy 109/4 (24) Rahal Amarasinghe 36, Theeraka Ranathunga 21*, Malsha Tharupathi 3/28

Result – Trinity College won by 41 runs (DLS)