Dharmasoka takes upper hand; St. Thomas’ defeat St. Servatius

Non-Live Big Matches Roundup 2018/19


Akila Mendis (4/07) and Kavindu Nadeeshan (3/38) starred with the ball as Dharmasoka College took upper hand on day one of the 52nd Battle of Blues against Sri Devananda College, while St. Thomas’ College, Matara registered a 5-wicket victory over St. Servatius College in the 19th Ruhunu Battle of Blues one day encounter.

>>Upendra and Virajitha bowl Dharmaraja to victory<<

Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda vs Sri Devananda College, Ambalangoda

The 52nd Battle of Blues between Dharmasoka College and Sri Devananda College commenced today at the De Zoysa Stadium in Moratuwa. After being put into bat first, Dharmasoka College posted 201 runs with Shanula Shamin top scoring with 75 runs.

Shamindu Anushka was the star with the ball for Sri Devananda College as he picked up 5 wickets for 52 runs. In reply, Sri Devananda batsmen put on a poor batting display as they were bowled out for just 106 runs in 35.3 overs.

Brief scores

Dharmasoka College – 201 (52.3) Shanula Shamin 75, Shenal Deshai 24, Sasindu Malshan 31*, Shamindu Anushka 5/52, Divindu de Silva 2/04, Chamika Perera 2/52

Sri Devananda College – 106 (35.3) Sohan de Livera 44, Mithila Fernando 24, Akila Mendis 4/07, Kavindu Nadeeshan 3/38, Dinuka Dilshan 2/27

Stumps – Day 1

>>Battle of the Rocks and Battle of the Golds end in draws<<

St. Servatius College, Matara vs St. Thomas’ College, Matara

St. Thomas’ College managed to register a 5-wicket win over St. Servatius College in their 19th Ruhunu Battle of Blues One Day Encounter worked off today at the Uyanwattha Stadium. After restricting Servatius to 231 runs, the Thomians chased down the target in just 44.3 overs with 5 wickets in hand. Suranga Lakshan (45) and Hirusha Jiwajith (44) top scored with the bat.

Brief scores

St. Servatius College – 231 (49.2) Puspitha Dilshan 51, Thihan Kalindu 39, Chethaka Denuwan 34, Naveen Sahith 25*, Kesara Nuwantha 20, Chamika Ranasinghe 3/31, Hirantha Lakshan 2/33, Disanthika Jayaweera 2/38, Mihisal Amoda 2/39

St. Thomas’ College – 234/5 (44.3) Suranga Lakshan 45*, Hirusha Jiwajith 44*, Woshitha Athsara 40, Gishanthika Jayaweera 38, Mihisal Amoda 20

Result – St. Thomas’ College won by 5 wickets

>>All-round Lakshitha Rasanjana guides Nalanda to Semis<<

President’s College, Kotte vs Ashoka Vidyalaya, Colombo

Ashoka Vidyalaya defeated President’s College by 5 wickets in the 13th Rattharan Satana annual One Day encounter which was worked off today at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Vihanga Shamilka and Rahul Chandrasekara starred with the ball for Ashoka Vidyalaya, taking 9 scalps between them.

Photos: Asoka College vs President’s College Kotte – 13th One day Encounter

Brief scores

President’s College – 85 (25.4) Thigian Thewmika 22, Vihanga Shamilka 5/14, Rahul Chandrasekara 4/10

Ashoka Vidyalaya – 89/5 (23.5) Anuk Pasandul 23*, Iranga Heshan 3/24

Result – Ashoka Vidyalaya won by 5 wickets

Sri Sumangala College, Kandy vs Sri Rahula College, Katugastota

Sri Rahula College defeated Sri Sumangala College by 7 wickets in the Kandy Battle of the Golds annual One Day encounter which was worked off today at Pallekelle. Dilshan Arabegedara was the star performer of the match as he picked up 5 wickets for just 7 runs for Sri Rahula College to restrict the opposition to a low score.

Brief scores

Sri Sumangala College – 86 (34.3) Dilshan Arabegedara 5/07, Akash Kariyawasam 3/25

Sri Rahula College – 87/3 (33.2) Madushan Paranavithana 30*, Kushan Senarath 26, Lahiru Bandara 2/29

Result – Sri Rahula College won by 7 wickets


St. Mary’s College, Kegalle vs Kegalu Vidyalaya, Kegalle

The 29th Battle of Golds between St. Mary’s College and Kegalu Vidyalaya ended in a draw today at the Public Grounds in Kegalle. St. Mary’s College took honors in the drawn encounter as Gajitha Kotuwegoda starred with the bat scoring a magnificent century.

Brief scores

St. Mary’s College – 222 (65.2) Gajitha Kotuwegoda 102, Pasan Walisinghe 32*, Sandeepa Weerasinghe 26, Madushan Gunasinghe 3/72, Punsara Gimhana 2/19 & 140/5d (23.2) Gihan Abeywardhane 35, Dushan Karunathilaka 30, Akalanka Pethiyagoda 22, Madushan Gunasinghe 3/51

Kegalu Vidyalaya – 123 (35.1) Lochana Charith 24, Sandaru Shan 20, Achintha Wickramasinghe 4/20, Gihan Abeywardhana 4/26, Sineth Weerasuriya 2/23 &  141/3 (48.1) Pulasthi Anurada 52*, Sandaru Shan 38, Pasindu Dilshan 34, Sineth Weerasooriya 2/37

Result – Match Drawn