Abishek Anandakumar plays the protagonist in another Trinitian showdown

Singer U19 Division 1 Cricket Tournament 2020


Trinity College recorded their 6th outright win in the tournament against St. Sebastian’s College while Richmond College and St. Joseph Vaz College ended their group ‘D’ encounter in a draw. Three other games of Singer U19 Division 1 Cricket Tournament 2019/20 hit the road today, 29th January.

Trinity College, Kandy vs St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa

The game was played at the historic Asgiriya Stadium in Kandy. The visitors won the toss and decided to bowl first which, turned out to be a good toss to lose for Trinity. They tottered their way to a decent total of 230 runs for their first-innings. The flag bearer of the team Abishek Anandakumar led the batting yet again with a stellar knock of 92 runs. Thewin Amarasinghe was the next best performer with the bat making 39 runs. The left-arm spinner Kalana Sandeepa was the pick of the bowling for the Sebastianites with figures of 3 for 79 runs. 

The power-packed bowling unit of Trinity College came down hard at the visitors who looked at bay with the bat in hand. The spin duo Uvindu Wimaladharma and Abishek Anandakumar took the baton from the pace department, who operated in tight lines consistently to get the wickets column rolling. Wimaladharma topped the table with 4 wickets to his name while his partner-in-crime Anandakumar bagged 3 scalps. 

A follow-on which looked pretty unlikely with a first-innings score of 230 was enforced on the Moratuwa school. This time came in a third assassin to hunt down the Sebastianites. Right-arm off-spin of Shane Gunathilake baffled five men from Moratuwa. He registered figures of 5 for 45 while Abishek added another 3 wickets under his belt. 

A 32-run target was set for the Trinitians. They duly chased it down with troubles in just 7.1 overs to stamp authority and pride of the brand of cricket they are playing this year. They have won 6 games outright out of the 7 games they played. 

Brief scores

Trinity College 230 (63.2) 

Abhishek Anandakumar 92, Thewin Amarasinghe 39, Ranuda Somarathna 24, Deemantha Bandara 21, Kalana Sandeep 3/79, Induwara De Alwis 2/30, Sasika Perera 2/38 

& 37/1 (7.1) 

Pawan Pathiraja 21*

St. Sebastian’s College 102 (45.4) 

Yashan Avishka 43*, Dunith Jayathunga 26, Uvindu Wimaladarma 4/29, Abhishek Anandakumar 3/19 

& F/O 160 (55.1) 

Kalana Sandeep 31 Sukitha Prasanna 30, Bihanga Mendis 25, Shane Gunathilake 5/45, Abhishek Anandakumar 3/43, Uvindu Wimaladarma 2/33


Read More : Royal miss out an outright win by a whisker

St. Joseph Vaz College vs Richmond College, Galle

The visiting Richmond College won the toss and opted to bat first. They scored 164 runs off the first-innings. Kavindu Nirmana was the top-scorer with 38 runs while Shone Shenil picked up 3 wickets for 19 runs to grab the spotlight in the bowling.

If Richmond College was bad, St. Joseph Vaz College was even poor in batting. They managed only 113 runs for their first-innings. Chamath Fernando’s 37 runs were the most by the batsmen. Sugeeth Nimnada who was brilliant with the ball in hand missed out on a fifer by a whisker. He bagged 4 wickets for 26 runs. 

The Richmondites came out with a much better performance in the second-innings scoring 180 runs for the loss of 3 wickets before declaring. Kavindu Nirmana completed his half-century that he missed out on the first-innings while the team’s Mr. Reliable, Dimuth Sandaruwan smacked an unbeaten 59. 

The purple patch in the batting for St. Joseph Vaz seemed to be on continuing as they were 8 down for 119 after the game. 

Brief scores

Richmond College 164 (69) 

Kavindu Nirmana 38, Sandun Mendis 28, Chamath Dilsara 26, Sugeeth Nimnada 22, Rishan Chamika 21, Shon Shenil 3/19, Menusha Perera 3/45, Dhanuka Nirmal 2/22 

& 180/3d (38) 

Kavindu Nirmana 67, Dimuth Sandaruwan 59*, Bhanuka Manohara 34

St. Joseph Vaz College 113 (44.5) 

Chamath Fernando 37, Pasindu Dassanayake 29, Sugeeth Nimnada 4/26, Tharinda Nirmal 3/09 

& 119/8 (37) 

Pasindu Dassanayake 30, Vishwa Rajapaksha 27, Onel Ilangasekara 25, Tharinda Nirmal 3/13, Chamath Dilsara 3/13


Read Also : Mahanama College first to breach 500-plus barrier

Wesley College, Colombo vs St. Thomas’ College, Matara

  • At Uyanwatte stadium (Toss: St. Thomas’)

Wesley College 212 (86.1)

Sahil Dias 56, Nimthaka Induwara 27, Rakith Fernando 22, Denuwana Mendis 20, Sachira Rashmika 7/62

St. Thomas’ College 29/1

Harindu Jayasekara 22*


St. Servatius’ College, Matara vs St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy

  • At Welagedara stadium (Toss: St. Servatius’)

St. Servatius’ College 278 (76)

Chihan Kalindu 68, Madushan De Silva 53, Chethaka Milanduwa 51, Pushpitha Dilshan 47, Dinura Dilmith 21*, Sashika Basnayake 5/89, Abishek Kumar 2/14, Maleesha Silva 2/27

St. Sylvester’s College 5/1 (2)


S. Thomas College, Mount Lavinia vs Nalanda College, Colombo

  • At S. Thomas’ grounds (Toss: Nalanda)

S. Thomas’ College 235 (71)

Gavin Botheju 69, Umayanga Suwaris 46, Maneesha Rupasinghe 21, Caniston Gunaratnam 28, Yasiru Rodrigo 24*, Chamodya Rajapaksha 4/57, Ranindu De Silva 2/27, Dineth Samaraweera 2/40

Nalanda College 83/1 (24)

Avishka Perera 48*, Rashan Dissanayake 29*


>>> Click here for more schools cricket news <<<