Kalana Perera demolishes Isipathana; Joes reach Quarter Finals

Under 19 ‘Division 1’ Limited Over Cricket Tournament 2018/19


A pre-quarterfinal and two pre-quarter final playoffs of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Limited Over Cricket Tournament 2018/19 were conducted today around the island. St. Joseph’s College secured a quarter-final berth while left-arm fast bowler Kalana Perera and left-arm spinner Ayesh Harshana guided S. Thomas’ College and Thurstan College to pre-quarterfinals respectively.   

 Read: Ayesh and Bawantha put Thurstan in command on day one

St. Joseph’s College, Colombo vs Zahira College, Colombo

St. Joseph’s College managed to secure a place in the quarterfinals of the Singer Schools Under 19 Division 1 Limited Over Tournament as they registered a win over Zahira College today at Darley Road. After winning the toss, the visiting skipper opted to bat first but posted only 162 runs in 41.1 overs. Sri Lanka U19 cap, Mohommad Shamaz top-scored with a knock of 64 runs for the visitors.

Photos: St. Joseph’s College vs Zahira College – U19 Cricket Tournament (One Day) 2018/19 | Pre Quarter-Finals

Off-spinner, Captain Ashain Daniel showed his tricks with the ball taking 3 scalps for 13 runs for the hosts. In the run chase, Joes had no issues as they reached the target in 31 overs with 6 wickets in hand. Top order batsman and Vice Captain Johanne de Zilva made 51 runs for the hosts.

Brief scores

Zahira College – 162 (41.1) Mohommad Shamaz 64, M Shadulla 37, Dilshan Shaminda 35, Ashain Daniel 3/13, Shevon Daniel 2/07, Lakshan Gamage 2/38

St. Joseph’s College – 166/4 (31) Johanne de Zilva 51, Sheran Fonseka 32, Shevon Daniel 25, Dineth Jayakody 22, M Rizard 2/36

Result – St. Joseph’s College won by 6 wickets & qualified to the quarter finals

Read: Adithya and Sandun guide Richmond to Pre-Quarters

S.Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia vs Isipathana College, Colombo

S.Thomas’ College defeated Isipathana College by 8 wickets in their pre-quarter final play off which was worked off today at Mount Lavinia.

After winning the toss, the visitors opted to bat first but the decision backfired as they were bundled out for just 106 runs in 27.2 overs.

Saveen Dantha, the chief contributor with the bat for the visitors made 52 runs. In-form left-arm fast bowler Kalana Perera, who bowled extremely well against Royal College in the recently concluded big match winning the man of the match award, continued his good work picking up another 7-wicket haul for 30 runs.

The Thomians chased down the target of 107 runs in 14 overs as the skipper Sithara Hapuhinna made a quick fire 54 runs helping the hosts to reach pre-quarter finals comprehensively.

Read: Nuwanindu Fernando guides St. Sebastian’s to Quarters

Brief scores

Isipathana College – 106 (27.2) Saveen Dantha 52, Ravindu Rathnayake 21, Kalana Perera 7/30, Shannon Fernando 2/27

S.Thomas’ College – 108/2 (14) Sithara Hapuhinna 54, Ravindu de Silva 20, Savindu Uthsara 1/18

Result – S. Thomas’ College won by 8 wickets & qualified to pre-quarter finals

Lumbini College, Colombo vs Thurstan College, Colombo

Thurstan College defeated Lumbini College by 144 runs in their pre-quarterfinal playoff which was worked off today at Thurstan College grounds.

Photos: Thurstan College vs Lumbini College – U19 Cricket Tournament One Day 2018/19 | Pre QF (Play-Offs)

The Thurstan College skipper Sandaru Dias won the toss and chose to bat first. They posted 323 runs for 7 wickets in the allotted 50 overs with Jayavihana Mahavithana (78), Sandaru Dias (62) and Bawantha Jayasinghe (53) scoring half-tons for the hosts.

Chasing a mammoth score of 324 runs to win, the visitors were never in it as they continued to lose wickets at regular intervals despite maintaining a healthy run-rate throughout the innings. Ravishka Wijesiri played a lone hand with the bat scoring 93 runs but left-arm spinner Ayesh Harshana was too good for them as he took 4 scalps for just 6 runs.

Read: Ayesh and Sandaru guide Thurstan to Quarterfinals

Brief scores

Thurstan College – 323/7 (50) Jayavihan Mahavithana 78, Sandaru Dias 62, Bawantha Jayasinghe 53*, Ranesh Silva 42, Rashmika Hiripitiya 38*, Ravishka Wijesiri 2/42

Lumbini College – 179 (34.5) Ravishka Wijesiri 93, Dushan Fernando 21, Ayesh Harshana 4/06, Shalaka Bandara 2/17, Anju Karunanayake 2/37

Result – Thurstan College won by 144 runs & qualified to the pre-quarter finals