Wesley beat Thomians to claim Sathasivam Trophy

U19 Division 1 Tournament – Traditional Fixtures


Wesley College beat S. Thomas College by 10 wickets to win the M. Sathasivam Challenge Trophy for the very first time since its inauguration in 1999.

Batting first, S. Thomas College were restricted to a low score of 129, to which Wesley College replied with a much better batting display putting on 256 runs on the board.

Sahil Dias showed his class with the bat powering his way to a magnificent century. Dias knock included 10 fours and 3 sixes.

S. Thomas College were expected a better batting display in their second essay but it wasn’t to be the case as they once again failed with the bat being bowled out for just 134 runs setting an easy target of 12 runs for Wesley College.

The other traditional fixture worked off yesterday (15th January) between Devapathiraja College and St. Peter’s College ended in a draw at St. Peter’s College Grounds.

However, the lads from Rathgama managed to outsmart the well-known school from Colombo in a thrilling draw.

Batting first, Devapathiraja posted a modest score of 185 for their first innings but managed to bowl out strong St. Peter’s College batting unit for 161 gaining a 24-run lead. Devapathiraja posted 184 runs for their second innings setting a target of 209 for St. Peter’s College to chase down.

The Peterites finished the game at 196 for 9 and managed to save the game and their honour. Irushka Thimira picked up a match bag of 8 wickets claiming 4 wickets in each innings for Devapathiraja College. Danal Hemananda who scored back to back half-centuries and picked up five wickets stood out for St. Peters’ College.

Brief Scores

S. Thomas College, Mount Lavinia 129/9d (46.5) Janindu Abegunawardana 43, Linal Subasinghe 4/33, Semila Liyanage 2/30 & 134 (59) Mahith Perera 39, G Caniston 30, Ravindu Sigera 5/27

Wesley College, Colombo 256 (66.2) Sahil Dias 116, Thilshan Senannayaka 62, Rayan Fernando 3/32, G Caniston 2/72 & 12/0 (0.3)

Result – Wesley College won by 10 wickets

Devapathiraja College, Rathgama 185 (50.2) Sasanka Nirmal 70, Sandaru Theekshana 25, Tharindu Rukshan 23, Isira Ayupala 3/37, Imaan Umesh 2/25, Shanon Rodrigo 2/40 & 184 (34.5) Pawan Sandesh 72, Jeewaka Shasheen 36, Danal Hemananda 5/41, Niman Umesh 2/50

St. Peter’s College, Colombo 161 (32.5) Danal Hemananda 57, Sanshay Gunathilaka 32, Imaan Umesh 23, Irushka Thimira 4/42, Dasun Dilshan 3/39, Pawan Sandesh 2/28 & 196/9 (67) Lahiru Dawatage 56, Danal Hemananda 55, Irushka Thimira 4/81, Dasun Dilshan 3/33

Result – Match Drawn