Isuru Pannala century sets up big win for Dharmaraja

U19 Schools Cricket Tournament 2023/24

U19 Schools Cricket Tournament 2023/24

 Isuru Pannala smashed a brutal hundred as Dharmaraja College sealed a massive win over Holy Cross College, Kalutara, while S. Thomas’ College, Mt. Lavinia, Trinity College, Kandy, Richmond College, Galle and Zahira College, Colombo also registered wins in the U19 Schools Division I Limited Overs Cricket Tournament 2023/24.

The match was reduced to 39 overs per side as Dharmaraja College opted to bat first after winning the toss. Their No.3 batsman Isuru Pannala delivered an impressive knock and reached the remarkable 3-figure mark, hitting 132 off just 117 balls. His blistering hundred also consisted of 11 fours and 7 sixes which powered them to post 240/6 at the end of their innings.

>>Supun Waduge, Janith Ravishka star in Trinitians massive win

In response, Holy Cross College was not able to get anywhere close to the target, being bowled out for 121 in 37.3 overs. In the bowling department, Skipper Dulara Bandulasena led from the front, picking up 4 wickets, while Pulindu Perera and Sanuka Rathnayake each took two wickets as well. As a result, the Rajans secured a massive win by 119 runs.

In another 43-over game, S. Thomas’ College, Mt Lavinia beat Mahanama College, Colombo by 77 runs (Parabola Method). S. Thomas’ College managed to post 248/6 after batting first. The Skipper Mahith Perera led the batting unit as he stroked a quickfire half-century, smashing 73 unbeaten runs off 53 balls while hitting 4 fours and 6 sixes. Thisen Eheliyagoda also contributed well, scoring a 61-ball 41. On the other hand, Inuka Karannagoda managed to get 3 wickets too.

>>Kavindu Kaushalya 6-fer rattles St. Benedict’s

When chasing 249 to win, Mahanama College got only 142 runs after losing 7 wickets in 34.2 overs, and in the meantime, the match was stopped as the Thomians picked up the victory. Anuka Wijewardene (37*) and Eshan Vithanage (33*) were the top scorers for Mahanama College, while Ashen P. Perera bowled brilliantly as he bagged 4/36.

Brief Scores:

S. Thomas’ College, Mt. Lavinia 248/6 (43) Mahith Perera 73*, Thisen Eheliyagoda 41, Sadev Zoysa 32, Inuka Karannagoda 3/42, Anuka Wijewardene 1/16, Kavindu Amameth 1/36

Mahanama College, Colombo 142/7 (34.2) Anuka Wijewardene 37*, Eshan Vithanage 33*, Inuka Karannagoda 28, Ashen P. Perera 4/36, Kavindu Dias 2/13, Akash Fernando 1/25

Match Result – S. Thomas’ College, Mt. Lavinia won by 77 runs (Parabola Method).

De Mazenod College, Kandana 112/8 (39) Thareen Sanketh 34, Janith Karindra 23, Dinuka Thennakoon 4/29, Malith Rathnayake 2/30, Lakvin Abeysinghe 1/5, Tharana Wimaladharma 1/12

Trinity College, Kandy 113/4 (21.2) Janith Ravishka 29, Lakvin Abeysinghe 23*, Dinusha Peiris 21*, Kavindu Kaushalya 3/42, Savinu Chanthula 1/23

Match Result – Trinity College, Kandy won by 6 wickets.

St. Anthony’s College, Kandy 150 (49.1) Janith Rathnasiri 45, Induwara Galapitage 29, Sharon Abhishek 4/28, Malsha Tharupathi 3/28, Yuri Koththigoda 1/19, Kaveesha Induwara 1/24

Richmond College, Galle 151/8 (48.5) Chehan Subasinghe 52, Thamindu Pradeeptha 39, Helith Edirisinghe 23, Senura Abeysekara 2/23, Kaveesha Piyumal 2/25

Match Result – Richmond College, Galle won by 2 wickets.

Dharmaraja College, Kandy 240/6 (39) Isuru Pannala 132, Kalana Herath 22, Pulindu Perera 20, Amash Fernando 1/14, Akash Dewmina 1/40

Holy Cross College, Kalutara 121 (37.3) Nadeera Deshan 37, Pasindu Wimansa 24, Dulara Bandulasena 4/24, Pulindu Perera 2/14, Sanuka Rathnayake 2/25

Match Result – Dharmaraja College, Kandy won by 119 runs.

Lumbini College, Colombo 176 (48.2) Nabeel Rajudeen 32, Praveen Maneesha 31, Shahan Kaushalya 20, A.R.M. Mihan 3/25, Ismath Zayan 2/27

Zahira College, Colombo 179/6 (45.5) Ismath Zayan 36, Umar Imran 33, Raeedh Roshan 31, Dinitha Prabanka 2/27, Praveen maneesha 2/46, Shahan Kaushalya 1/15

Match Result – Zahira College, Colombo won by 4 wickets.