Colombo North emerge as champions of U17 Sri Lanka Youth League

U17 Sri Lanka Youth League 2023

U17 Sri Lanka Youth League 202

Colombo North became the champions of U17 Sri Lanka Youth League 2023, after registering a 13-run (DLS method) victory against Kandy in the Final, which was played today (29th) at NCC Grounds in Colombo.

The Captain of Colombo North, Samindu Maduranga won the all-important toss and decided to bowl first. They made their way to this Final with an unbeaten winning streak in the league stage, while Team Kandy also won three out of four matches.

Dimantha Mahavithana and Januka Rathnayake began the innings for Team Kandy, but Mahavithana walked back to the dressing room after being involved in a run out of the very first ball. Rathnayake got off to a solid start, but they lost another two wickets, reducing them to 46/3.

The opening batter scored 31 off 66 balls after putting up a 53-run partnership with Wathila Udara for the 4th wicket. Udara was their top scorer with a 40-ball 41 including 4 fours & 2 sixes. After breaking that partnership, the Colombo North bowlers continued to get wickets at regular intervals.

<<< Mahinda College champions of Vazians Super Sixers 2023 >>>

Lakvin Abeysinghe made a useful 31 runs as Kandy were bowled out for 155 in 37.3 overs. Right-arm off spinner Sethru Fernando was the major threat to the opponents to claim a brilliant 5-wicket haul. Kaveesha Mendis also scalped 2/37 while Dulnith Sigera, Thanuga Palihawadana and Tharusha Dilshara bagged a wicket each.

Earlier, the match was reduced to 40 overs per side due to rain interruptions. In reply, Colombo North got a fine start, adding 93/1 in 21 overs. Thanuja Rajapaksa and Kenath Liyanage provided them a good start, adding 44 runs in 9.1 overs. Rajapaksa went on to score 28 runs in 31 balls before being stumped off Charuka Ekanayake. Denura Demansith joined Liyanage to add another unbeaten 49 runs for the 2nd wicket as both of them remained not out on 24.

However, once again, the play was stopped due to heavy rain. At that moment, Team Colombo North were well ahead of the target provided by DLS Method by 13 runs which gave them the victory, with no possibility to resume the match again.

Brief Scores:

Kandy – 155 (37.3): Wathila Udara 41, Lakwin Abeysinghe 31, Januka Rathnayake 31, Sethru Fernando 5/25, Kaveesha Mendis 2/37

Colombo North – 93/1 (21): Thanuja Rajapaksa 28, Denura Demansith 24*, Kenath Liyanage 24*, Charuka Ekanayake 1/18

Result: Colombo North won by 9 wickets (DLS Method – Match reduced to 21 overs, Target – 81).