Western Province North crowned U15 Prima Champions Cup winners

Western Province North put together a superlative performance to clinch the Under 15 Prima Champions Cup 2019 after beating North Western Province by 69 runs in the final on D/L format at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Saturday. 

SLC provide 16 schools with bowling machines

The North-Western team won the toss and elected to field first, which was surprising given the weather conditions in Colombo during the evenings. However, WP North took full advantage of the sunny and batting-friendly conditions. They managed to post 249 before getting bowled out in the 47th over. Skipper Shevon Daniel was sublime with the bat, smashing 49-ball 84 to set the tone for the winners.

Samitha Chathura made a cracking 31 runs down the order while the other top-order batsmen contributed with valuable cameos. Openers Shan Dabare and Rusiru Vilochana added 55 runs for the opening wicket. Skipper Chathumal Fernando was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3 for 27 from his 8 overs. 

Prima Championship Cup to hit the roads on 27th October

As expected, clouds came over and it started raining in the evening. The North Western Province chase was cut short to only 25 overs. As per D/L calculations, they were 69 runs behind having managed only 100 for the loss of 6 wickets. Right-handed Gayan Weerasinghe top-scored with 35 while Sajitha Withanage bagged 3 for 24 for the WP North outfit. 

12 teams participated in the tournament conducted by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC). Both Western Province North and North Western Province qualified for the final after being unbeaten in their respective group.

Western Province North 249 (47) Shan Dabare 27, Rusiru Vilochana 22, Shevon Daniel 84, Hiran Jayasundara 27, Samitha Chathurya 31, Chathumal Fernando 3/27, Vishwa Rajapaksha 2/49, Thimira Viran 2/31 


North Western Province 100/6 (25) Nethmal De Soysa 25, Gayan Weerasingha 35, Sajitha Withanage 3/24

>> Visit the Schools Cricket Hub <<