Royal vs Trinity 125th cricket encounter ends in a draw


A pre quarter final and a traditional fixture in the Singer Schools U-19 Division 1 two-day cricket tournament 2017/18 were conducted today around the island.

Gurukula College, Kelaniya vs Mahinda College, Galle                        

The pre-quarter final between Gurukula College and Mahinda College commenced today at Mahinda College grounds. After winning the toss, the visiting skipper decided to bat first and posted 229 runs all out for their first innings. Pathum Mahesh and Lasindu Arosha made half-tons for Gurukula College. Left arm fast medium bowler Pasan Pethangoda was the star with the ball for Mahinda College picking up 5 wickets for 98 runs. In reply, the Galle boys finished day one on 60 runs for 1 wicket. Match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief scores

Gurukula College 229 (78.4) Pathum Mahesh 58, Lasindu Arosha 56, Kemira Nayanatharu 32, Nuwan Chanaka 26, Pasan Pethangoda 5/98

Mahinda College 60/1 (20) Hansika Welahinda 35*

Royal College, Colombo vs Trinity College, Kandy

125th Cricket Encounter between Royal College and Trinity College ended in a draw today at the historic Asgiriya Stadium. However, the first innings points were won by the home side Trinity College. Hosts resumed day two on 123 runs for 7 wickets and were bowled out for 173 runs for their first innings. Left arm spinner Manula Perera was the pick of the bowlers for the visitors as he grabbed 5 wickets for 49 runs.

Even though, Royal lost first innings points, they displayed a better batting performance in the second innings scoring 213 runs for 6 wickets. Gayan Dissanayake (69) and Kavindu Madarasinghe (67) top scored for the visitors. Chasing a target of 190 runs, Trinity lost quick wickets and posted 32 runs for 4 wickets when umpires called stumps on day two.

Brief scores

Royal College 149 (55) Kavindu Madarasinghe 60, Bhagya Dissanayake 30, Pasindu Sooriyabandara 21, Vimukthi Nethumal 7/52 & 213/6d (65.4) Gayan Dissanayake 69, Kavindu Madarasinghe 67, Bhagya Dissanayake 40, Vimukthi Nethumal 3/88, Ruvin Peiris 2/14

Trinity College 173 (54.4) Trevon Percivel 25, Hasitha Boyagoda 24, Hasintha Jayasuriya 21, Manula Perera 5/49, Lahiru Madushanka 2/16 & 32/4 (13) Manula Perera 2/13

Result – Match Drawn (Trinity College won first innings points)