Jayavihan Pradeepta century puts Thurstan on top


An unbeaten 125 by fresher Jayavihan Pradeepta propelled Thurstan College to a massive 314 runs in their first innings in the 55th Battle of the Brothers against Isipathana College at SSC grounds on Friday. 

With the inclusion of the 60-over rule in the first innings, the Battle of the Brothers was livened up this year. Isipathana College skipper Ayana Siriwardana won the toss and elected to field first. The seamers started off with a good burst but the fielders let them down with a few chances gone begging. 

However, a collapse after the opening stand saw Thurstan in a spot of bother at 33 for 3. Jayavihan Pradeepta and Nimesh Perera managed to see off the new ball and take their team to lunch at 79 for 3. 

Photos: Thurstan College vs Isipathana College | 55th Battle of the Brothers – Day 1

After lunch, with the wicket easing out, batting got much easier. Both Jayavihan and Nimesh took control of proceedings and stepped on the gas. Jayavihan was the first to his half century and Nimesh followed shortly after. Nimesh couldn’t continue after reaching his half century as he sustained an injury and had to be carried out of the ground. 

The injury was a blessing in disguise for Thurstan as it paved the way for a brilliant knock from Sawan Prabash. He came in and absolutely bludgeoned the ball all around the park. His knock of 50 came off 25 deliveries and included 3 boundaries and 4 sixes. 

On the other end, Jayavihan slowly but steadily chipped his way through to a magnificent century. He came in at a pressure situation and carried the bat through the innings. Towards the latter part of the innings, a few lusty blows from Skipper Nipun Lakshan and Jayavihan helped Thurstan reach 314 for 5 in their allocated 60 overs. 

Isipathana came into bat in the third and final session. Their openers looked good early on but a lack of concentration from Thevindu Dickwella saw him top edging one straight to cover. Sanjula Bandara and Leshan Amarasinghe followed shortly and put Isipathana in trouble at 31 for 3. 

Former U19 National cap Sanjula Abeywickrama got together with Ashen Gunawardane and consolidated but Ashen failed to capitalize on his start as he got himself run out for 14. 

Isipathana was feeling the heat and it was up to the two most senior batters Sanjula Abeywickrama and Skipper Ayana Siriwardana to keep the ship sailing for the green army. They were successful as they took the team to the end of play. However Isipathana are still trailing by 194 runs, needing 95 runs from 21 overs to avoid the follow on. 


Full Scorecard

Thurstan College

314/5 & 140/5

(23 overs)


Isipathana College

201/9 & 153/7

(52 overs)

Match drawn

Thurstan College’s 1st Innings

Imesh Viranga lbw by Kaliq Amath1228
Yeshan Wickramararac lbw by Shamika Wickramathilaka1430
Nimesh Perera not out52106
Nimesh Lakshan lbw by Kaliq Amath05
Jayavihan Pradeepta not out125146
Sawan Prabash b Dinath Dissanayake5025
Nipun Lakshan c Ashen Lakshitha b Ayana Siriwardana3818
Pansilu Deshan not out910
314/5 (60 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
Dinath Dissanayake111771 7.00
Kaliq Amath132562 4.31
Shamika Wickramathil83231 2.88
Sanjula Bandara51150 3.00
Madushika Sadaruwan91420 4.67
Ayana Siriwardana121801 6.67
Sanjula Abeywickrama20170 8.50

Isipathana College’s 1st Innings

Ayana Siriwardana c Jayavihan Pradeepta b Sawan Prabash52103
Sanjula Bandara b Nipun Lakshan1222
Sanjula Abeywickrama c Pansilu Deshan b Sawan Prabash69144
Leshan Amarasinghe c & b Nipun Lakshan03
Ashen Lakshitha (runout) Sandaru Dias1430
Thevidu Dickwella c & b Yeshan Wickramararachi1020
Shamika Wickramathil not out311
Eshan Fernando c Pansilu Deshan b Sawan Prabash411
Kaliq Amath lbw by Sandaru Dias13
Madushika Sadaruwan c Rashmika Ravihara b Sawan Prabash17
Dinath Dissanayake not out00
201/9 (60 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
Sawan Prabash143414 2.93
Nipun Lakshan120572 4.75
Yeshan Wickramararac61191 3.17
Janushka Fernando2080 4.00
Ayesh Harshana91280 3.11
Sandaru Dias174381 2.24

Thurstan College’s 2nd Innings

Nimesh Lakshan c Leshan Amarasinghe b Kaliq Amath2245
Yeshan Wickramararac c Eshan Fernando b Dinath Dissanayake3223
Jayavihan Pradeepta c Eshan Fernando b Kaliq Amath311
Sawan Prabash b Shamika Wickramathilaka87
Nipun Lakshan c & b Kaliq Amath1412
Pansilu Deshan not out2528
Nimesh Perera not out1614
140/5 (23 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
Ayana Siriwardana61380 6.33
Dinath Dissanayake50181 3.60
Kaliq Amath50303 6.00
Shamika Wickramathil50271 5.40
Sanjula Bandara1030 3.00
Madushika Sadaruwan1090 9.00

Isipathana College’s 2nd Innings

Thevidu Dickwella b Janushka Fernando2780
Sanjula Bandara b Ayesh Harshana2551
Sanjula Abeywickrama c Yeshan Wickramararachi b Ayesh Harshana4873
Leshan Amarasinghe c Sandaru Dias b Ayesh Harshana530
Kaliq Amath c Nimesh Lakshan b Ayesh Harshana02
Shamika Wickramathil b Janushka Fernando1527
Ayana Siriwardana c Sawan Prabash b Janushka Fernando02
Ashen Lakshitha not out533
Eshan Fernando not out028
153/7 (52 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
Nipun Lakshan61120 2.00
Sawan Prabash71200 2.86
Sandaru Dias72140 2.00
Ayesh Harshana196524 2.74
Janushka Fernando121433 3.58
Pansilu Deshan1100 0.00