Taylor, Jarvis back in ODI colours for tri-nation series

Taylor has made a return to Zimbabwe's ODI squad © Getty

Brendan Taylor and Kyle Jarvis return to ODI colours for Zimbabwe, for the first time since they went on the Kolpak route, having signed their contracts with Nottinghamshire and Lancashire, in 2015 and 2013 respectively.

[rev_slider LOLC]

While the premier all-rounder will lend much needed stability to Zimbabwe’s middle order, Jarvis’s ability to move the new ball will bring in variety to the attack.

Zimbabwe Cricket, who announced their 15-member squad on Sunday (January 7), sent out maiden international call-ups to the 20-year-old legspinning all-rounder Brandon Mavuta and 19-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman Ryan Murray. They have been a part of Tatenda Taibu’s initiative – Zimbabwe Academy – set up to groom young cricketers with an annual winter camp in England. While Mavuta has played just one List A match, Murray has played two.

Solomon Mire, who shone in the five-match ODI series against Sri Lanka, will be expected to do the job again, while seasoned campaigners in Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine and Sikandar Raza are all capable of contributing in both the departments. Blessing Muzarabani recently made his international debut in the Pink Ball Test against South Africa, and having been named in the ODI squad for the triangular series, will be expected to showcase his skills.

The triangular series which features Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, will start on January 15.

Squad: Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Sikandar Raza, Peter Moor, Malcolm Waller, Graeme Cremer (c), Ryan Murray (wk), Tendai Chisoro, Brandon Mavuta, Blessing Muzarabani, Christopher Mpofu, Tendai Chatara, Kyle Jarvis