Sri Lanka win inaugural Deaf-ICC T20 World Cup – 2018

Deaf-ICC T20 World Cup - 2018


The inaugural Deaf-ICC T20 World Cup took place in Gurugram, India from 23rd November to 30th November involving 8 teams representing England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bangladesh, South Africa, Pakistan and India. 

The Sri Lankans played their first game against Australia which they managed to win by 65 runs. Sri Lanka faced their only defeat in the tournament in their second game against South Africa by 13 runs but fought back with a scintillating win against Nepal when they crushed them with a 179-run win. Sri Lanka scored 227 runs in their 20 overs with the skipper, G.L. Malkam top-scoring with 85 runs. Sri Lanka bowled out Nepal for just 45 runs in that game.

Skipper G.L. Malkam was the star performer for Sri Lanka who hit 2 fifties in the tournament and picked up over 7 wickets. They also won their final first-round game against the host, India, by 51 runs.

The Sri Lankans proved too good to be defeated in the super-three round too as they got through the two games quite comfortably beating South Africa by 3 wickets and India by 6 wickets.

They defeated India for the third time in the tournament to clinch the title in the finals by 36 runs.