The Sri Lanka squad to tour Hong Kong for the Asia under 20 sevens tournament to be held on the 4th and 5th August has been named.

Former Thomian skipper and wing-three quarter Naveen Henakankanamage has been handed the captain’s role while some experienced players have been selected for the tour.

Naveen Henakankanamage to captain Sri Lanka U20

Prolific wing-three quarter and former Thomian skipper Naveen Henakankanamage…

A mix of club players and school players will help Sri Lanka as the experienced heads will be able to guide the youngsters around the park.

The youngsters who lit up the school rugby season, Chathura Seneviratne, Chamodh Fernando and Avishka Lee have been selected to tour along with Theekshana Dassanayake of St. Peter’s College and Dinuk Amerasinghe, captain of St. Anthony’s College.

Squad of 25 named for Asia U-20 sevens

The national selectors have cut down the initial 48 to a 25 man squad for the Asia U20 7s..

Navy trio Lahiru Herath, Thanuja Maduranga and Supun Dilshan (toured in 2016 as well), players who made an impact in the 2016/17 Dialog Club Rugby League have been retained while Havelocks lad Ramesh Fernando and Police five-eight Sandesh Jayawickrama alongside lock-forward Wajid Fawmi have also been included.

Sudath SampathSudath Sampath, the coach of the winning team from 2016 has been retained for the job as the hopes of a nation lay upon him to guide the youngsters to the title.

15-member Under 20 Squad

Naveen Henekankanamage (C) – (S. Thomas’)
Supun Dilshan (VC) – (Science / Navy SC)
Chamod Fernando – Isipathana
Adeesha Weerathunga – (Isipathana / Navy SC)
Ranindu Padmasanka – (Isipathana)
Thanuja Maduranga – (Science / Navy SC)
Wajid Fawmy – (Zahira / Police SC)
Sandesh Jayawickrama – (St. Peter’s / Police SC)
Theekshana Dasanayake – (St. Peter’s)
Chathura Senavirathne – (St. Joseph’s)
Suranga Bandara – (Police SC)
Lahiru Herath – (CWW Kannangara / Navy SC)
Ramesh Fernando – (St. Peter’s / Havelocks)
Avishka Lee – (Wesley)
Dinuk Amerasinghe (St. Anthony’s)

Rankings after last year’s tournament

1. Sri Lanka
2. South Korea
3. Hong Kong
4. Malaysia
5. Chinese Taipei
6. Thailand
7. Singapore
8. China
9. Philippines
10. Uzbekistan

Asia Rugby U20 Pool – 2017

–Pool A – Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Taipei, China, Philippines
–Pool B – South Korea, Hong Kong, Thailand, Singapore, Uzbekistan

The tournament will be played on the 4th & 5th of August, will bring you live stream from Hong Kong.