Sri Lanka U19 Residential Training to start on 12th July


Sri Lanka Cricket will hold a Residential Training Camp for Sri Lanka youth Cricketers from the 12th of July to the 1st of August at Asgiriya Stadium and Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

The main aim of the training camp is to select a 30-member squad for the upcoming Youth International tours, and eventually a squad for the 2022 U19 World Cup in the West Indies.

Selectors have picked 75 school Cricketers from all around the Island who are eligible to play in the 2022 U19 World Cup, for this training camp. The players will undergo a 21-day training program, which will be held in a bio-secured bubble.

The selected players will be split into 5 squads of 15 each under the names Western Province North, Western Province South, Dambulla, Southern and Kandy. As part of the program, 4 T20 matches and 10 one-day matches will be played among these teams. All games will take place in the two grounds mentioned above.

SLC had plans of playing a U19 Super Provincial Tournament soon after the Schools U19 season was over. The tournament unfortunately had to be scrapped due to the third wave of the COVID-19 virus.

Former Sri Lanka U19 Head Coach Hashan Tillakaratne was promoted to Sri Lanka Women’s Head Coach, and Sri Lanka Cricket appointed the well-renowned coach Dhammika Sudharshana to fill that position.

 >>For more schools cricket news<<

At the time of his appointment, Sudarshana was a batting coach at SLC’s high-performance centre. The former first-class Cricketer is well-known for his excellence in the schools Cricket coaching arena. He coached Richmond College for a very long time, and Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya Lakshan and Kamindu Mendis are all proud products of Sudarshana.

Alongside Sudarshana, several other skilled coaches of Sri Lanka’s High-Performance Centre are also a part of this  training program.


  • Western Province North: Sahil Dias (Wesley College), Bawantha Jayasinghe (Thurstan College), Sadeesh Jayawardena (St. Joseph’s College), Sithija Hewawitharana (Gurukula College), Shevon Daniel (St. Joseph’s College), Vinuja Ranpul (Nalanda College), Mineth Premaratne (Ananda College), Dunith Wellalage (St. Joseph’s College), Raveen de Silva (Nalanda College), Irosha Silva (De Mazenod College), Nipun Premaratne (Thurstan College), Savindu Perera (Maris Stella College), Lisura Sigera (Nalanda College), Senash Fernando (De Mazenod College, Hansaja Jayasinghe (Ananda College)
  • Western Province South: Abhishek Liyanaarachchi (D.S. Senanayake College), Sakuna Liyanage (Lumbini College), Ryan Fernando (S. Thomas’ College), Tharindu Amarasinghe (Prince of Wales College), Omesh Mendis (Prince of Wales College), Lahiru Dawatage (St. Peter’s College), Eranga Jayakody (Nalanda College), Induwara de Alwis (St. Sebastian’s College), Gishan Balasooriya (Royal College), Yasiru Rodrigo (S. Thomas’ College), Danal Hemananda (St. Peter’s College), Sadisha Rajapaksa (Royal College), Wanuja Sahan (St. Peter’s College),  Vihanga Dimantha (Lumbini College), Charuka Peiris (Sri Sumangala College)
  • Galle: Pawan Sandesh (Devapathiraja College), Harindu Jayasekara (St. Thomas’ College, Matara), Bhanuka Manohara (Richmond College), Vishara Rashmika (Richmond College), Jeewaka Shasheen (Devapathiraja College), Kavindu Thirimanne (Richmond College), Nipuna Ruviru (St. Thomas’ College, Matara), Sasanka Nirmal (Devapathiraja College), Dulash Samuditha (Weeraketiya Central College), Hansamanna de Silva (Richmond College), Malsha Tharupathi (Madampe Central College), Danuja Jayaweera (Mahinda College), Irushika Thimira (Devapathiraja College)
  • Kandy: Ranuda Somarathne (Trinity College), Chandimal Herath (St. Anthony’s College, Kandy), Yasiru Gamaarachchi (St. Anthony’s College, Kandy), Pawan Pathiraja (Trinity College), Vibavith Ahelepola (Trinity College), Akram Muthalib (Trinity College), Anjala Bandara (St. Anthony’s College, Kandy), Asitha Wanniarachchi (St. Anthony’s College, Kandy), Maleesha Silva (St. Sylvester’s College), Matheesha Pathirana (Trinity College), Divyesh Ramiah (St. Anthony’s College, Kandy), Chamindu Wickramsinghe (St. Anthony’s College, Kandy), Trevin Mathews (St. Anthony’s College, Kandy), Lahiru Abeysinghe (St. Anthony’s College, Kandy), Maleesha Senanayake (St. Mary’s College, Kegalle)
  • Dambulla: Prabudda Premalal (Ibbagamuwa Central College), Matheesha Weerasinghe (Maliyadeva College), S. Sarangan (Jaffna Central College), Nethmal de Soyza (St. Joseph Vaz College), Rishi Adishtan (Maliyadeva College), Haritha Kaveeshvara (Royal College, Polonnaruwa), Dilhara Deshabaandu (St. Anne’s College), Sakindu Wijerathne (Maliyadeva College), Manaan Muzammil (St. Anne’s College), Maleesha Thilakaratne (St. Sebastian’s College, Katuneriya), A. Deshvin (St. Patrick’s College, Jaffna), Hasintha Kaushan (St. Joseph Vaz College), Vishva Rajapaksa (Moratu Vidyalaya), Pasindu Thennakoon (Maliyadeva College), Danuka Nirmal (St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa)

>>For more cricket news<<