Home Cricket National Cricket Mendis ton carries Sri Lanka to safety

Mendis ton carries Sri Lanka to safety

Kusal Mendis’ 7th Test ton on day 5 of the 2nd Test between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe paved the way for a well-fought draw, giving the Lions the series 1-0.

After rain and bad light had diminished Zimbabwe’s chances of setting Sri Lanka a 400+ target on day 4, the expectation was that the hosts would declare overnight in a bid to push for a win. However, surprisingly, overnight batsmen Sean Williams and Donald Tiripano did come out to bat to extend Zimbabwe’s lead. The ploy didn’t last very long at all as the hosts declared after just 1 delivery, setting Sri Lanka 361 to win in 96 overs.

Read More: Rain spoils Zimbabwe’s day

Sri Lanka got off to a slow and steady start via openers Dimuth Karunaratne and Oshada Fernando, as the pair put on 26 in 13.4 overs, seeing off the new ball, before a soft dismissal saw Karunaratne sent back. Mendis then joined Fernando and the pair looked steady right throughout, cautious at first and then accelerating during the 2nd half of the 1st session to go into Lunch unscathed.

Mendis was the aggressor from the get-go, using his feet adeptly to Sikandar Raza, who picked up 7 wickets in the 1st innings and ended up making 116 in 233 deliveries, including 13 fours and 1 six. 

Fernando fell at the beginning of the 2nd session but another solid partnership between Mathews and Mendis steadied Sri Lanka once again. Raza did trouble the visiting batsmen with the odd delivery keeping low, but Mendis, Mathews and eventually Dinesh Chandimal were solid in defense as the game drew to a close. With a result looking unlikely, the teams decided to call it a day with 10 of the 96 overs due to be bowled on day 5 remaining.

Despite having the likes of Dhananjaya De Silva and Niroshan Dickwella yet to bat, Sri Lanka, understandably, did not push for a win, having already more or less secured the series with a win in the 1st Test.

Zimbabwe on the other hand would be disappointed that they could not do better on a deteriorating pitch to register their 1st ever Test win over Sri Lanka.

>>Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe 2020<<

Match drawn

Sri Lanka
293/10 (119.5) & 204/3 (87)
406/10 (115.3) & 247/7 (75)
Prince Masvaure c Niroshan Dickwella b Lahiru Kumara9441020.45
Kevin Kasuza b Suranga Lakmal38974039.18
Craig Ervine c Oshada Fernando b Dhananjaya de Silva121111109.09
Brendan Taylor lbw b Suranga Lakmal6262101100.00
Sean Williams b Dhananjaya de Silva10713710378.10
Sikandar Raza c Angelo Mathews b Lasith Embuldeniya72994272.73
Regis Chakabva c Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya31693044.93
Tinotenda Mutombodzi lbw b Dhananjaya de Silva33994033.33
Donald Tiripano c Suranga Lakmal b Lasith Embuldeniya13471027.66
Carl Mumba not out11192057.89
Victor Nyauchi c Dhananjaya de Silva b Lasith Embuldeniya6101060.00
Extras12 (b 8 , lb 3 , nb 1, w 0, pen 0)
Total406/10 (115.3 Overs, RR: 3.52)
Fall of Wickets 1-21 (13.6) Prince Masvaure, 2-49 (19.4) Craig Ervine, 3-114 (32.6) Kevin Kasuza, 4-133 (36.5) Brendan Taylor, 5-292 (71.6) Sikandar Raza, 6-324 (78.5) Sean Williams, 7-362 (95.2) Regis Chakabva, 8-386 (110.1) Tinotenda Mutombodzi, 9-394 (111.6) Donald Tiripano, 10-406 (115.3) Victor Nyauchi,
Suranga Lakmal2293721.68
Vishwa Fernando1414503.21
Lahiru Kumara2056013.00
Lasith Embuldeniya42.3818244.30
Dhananjaya de Silva1717134.18
Dimuth Karunarathne lbw b Sikandar Raza441203036.67
Oshada Fernando c Regis Chakabva b Donald Tiripano441194036.97
Kusal Mendis c Carl Mumba b Sikandar Raza22731130.14
Angelo Mathews c Regis Chakabva b Carl Mumba641583240.51
Dinesh Chandimal c & b Sikandar Raza690166.67
Dhananjaya de Silva b Sikandar Raza42645165.62
Niroshan Dickwella lbw b Sikandar Raza160016.67
Suranga Lakmal c Tinotenda Mutombodzi b Sikandar Raza5270018.52
Lasith Embuldeniya c Brian Mudzinganyama b Sikandar Raza5390012.82
Vishwa Fernando c Regis Chakabva b Victor Nyauchi38815046.91
Lahiru Kumara not out3220013.64
Extras19 (b 9 , lb 10 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total293/10 (119.5 Overs, RR: 2.45)
Fall of Wickets 1-94 (36.2) Dimuth Karunarathne, 2-104 (43.1) Oshada Fernando, 3-134 (62.5) Kusal Mendis, 4-142 (64.5) Dinesh Chandimal, 5-226 (86.3) Dhananjaya de Silva, 6-228 (88.2) Niroshan Dickwella, 7-242 (94.3) Suranga Lakmal, 8-244 (97.1) Angelo Mathews, 9-268 (108.4) Lasith Embuldeniya, 10-293 (119.5) Vishwa Fernando,
Carl Mumba1844312.39
Sikandar Raza43811372.63
Donald Tiripano24123011.25
Victor Nyauchi22.574011.78
Tinotenda Mutombodzi1214804.00
Prince Masvaure run out (Dhananjaya de Silva)351053133.33
Craig Ervine c Niroshan Dickwella b Vishwa Fernando13431030.23
Regis Chakabva c Dhananjaya de Silva b Lasith Embuldeniya15391038.46
Brendan Taylor lbw b Lahiru Kumara67757189.33
Timycen Maruma st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya014000.00
Sikandar Raza lbw b Vishwa Fernando34744045.95
Sean Williams not out53776168.83
Tinotenda Mutombodzi b Suranga Lakmal8220036.36
Donald Tiripano not out120050.00
Extras21 (b 4 , lb 15 , nb 1, w 1, pen 0)
Total247/7 (75 Overs, RR: 3.29)
Fall of Wickets 1-32 (11.2) Craig Ervine, 2-64 (23.3) Regis Chakabva, 3-111 (38.2) Prince Masvaure, 4-124 (42.4) Timycen Maruma, 5-151 (49.3) Brendan Taylor, 6-221 (67.5) Sikandar Raza, 7-240 (74.3) Tinotenda Mutombodzi,
Suranga Lakmal1853411.89
Dhananjaya de Silva723204.57
Vishwa Fernando2054322.15
Lahiru Kumara1023803.80
Lasith Embuldeniya2008124.05

Oshada Fernando lbw b Sikandar Raza471084043.52
Dimuth Karunarathne c Regis Chakabva b Carl Mumba12380031.58
Kusal Mendis not out11623313149.79
Angelo Mathews c Craig Ervine b Victor Nyauchi13691018.84
Dinesh Chandimal not out13750017.33
Extras3 (b 1 , lb 1 , nb 1, w 0, pen 0)
Total204/3 (87 Overs, RR: 2.34)
Fall of Wickets 1-26 (13.4) Dimuth Karunarathne, 2-107 (38.1) Oshada Fernando, 3-140 (61.2) Angelo Mathews,
Sikandar Raza32106311.97
Donald Tiripano16101500.94
Carl Mumba411313.25
Sean Williams1604903.06
Victor Nyauchi1234313.58
Tinotenda Mutombodzi721902.71