The U15 All Island Basketball Tournament (C Division), in both girls and boys categories will tip off on the 17th of February, after a lapse of two years.

The tournament will be played in 12 different locations, spreading the competition around the island. The tournament is structured where the top and runners up of each group will go through the pre-quarter finals and then winners will advance to the semi-finals and finals.   

Tournament Secretary Buddhin Amarasinghe speaking to, about the tournament being held after a lapse of two years said, “The main objective of playing the U-15 tournament is to groom the young Basketball players since it is the foundation level where the players get to play the sport in a sense of a tournament or rather a competitive level and we are happy that we are able to recommence it.”

The matches in the girls` category will commence on the 17th of February. A total of 23 teams will compete in the girls` category. The schools have been divided into a total of 08 groups.

This is also the highest number of schools participating from all three division A, B, and C. Each team could field a squad of 25 registered players for the tournament who are eligible to play.

Group A: St. Anne’s College, Royal Institute, Vishaka Vidyalaya.

Group B: De Mazenod College, CIS Kandy.

Group C: Bishops College, HFC, Good Shepherd Convent – Kandy.

Group D: Wicherly International School, Gateway College – Kandy, Rathnawali MV Walala.

Group E: Yashodara Balika Vidyalaya, Devi Balika, Sujatha Balika Vidyalaya.

Group F: St. Lawrence Convent, Anula Vidyalaya, Maliyadeva Balika Vidyalya.  

Group G: Methodist College, Mahamaya Girls School Kandy, HFC Wennapuwa.

Group H: Horizon International School, Vembadi Girls School, Viharamaha Devi Balika Vidyalya.

Venues: St.Anne’s College, De Mazenood College, Bishop’s College, Wicherly International School, College, Yashodara College, St. Lawrence College, Methodist College and Horizon International School.

Group A and B will play at St.Anne’s Balika in Wattala while groups B and D will play at De Mazenod College. Both group C and E will play at Yashodara Balika Vidyalaya in Gampaha with G and H playing in St. Lawrence Convent.

The boys` category of Division C will comprise of 39 teams divided into 8 groups. The matches will tip off on the 02nd of March.

Group A: Thurstan College, St. Joseph Vaz College, St. Sylvester’s College, Horizon International School, Richmond College.  

Group B: Prince of Wales College, Akuramgoda MV, Christ King International, Westwood College, Cambridge College International.

Group C: D.C College, St. Aloysius College, Badulla Central College, P.D.S Kularatene MV, Lyceum International School – Gampaha.

Group D: Vidura College, Regent International School, S. Thomas` College – Seeduwa, Dharmapala MV, Holy Cross International School.

Group E: Karandeniya MV, St. Benedict`s College, CIS Kandy, Zahira College – Mawanella, Dharamadutha MV.

Group F: OKI International School, Polamadulla MV, Sumedha College – Gampaha, St. Joseph`s College – Nugegoda, Royal Institute.

Group G: Maliyadeva College, St. Aloysius College, Carey College, Royal College – Wayamba.

Group H: Althe College, CSI, St. Athord College, Mahinda College, Kaluthara Vidyalaya.

Venues: Thurstan College, Prince of Wales, D.C College, Vidura College, Karandeniya MV, OKI International, Maliyadeva MV and Alethea International School. will exclusively cover the tournament where all match articles and photos could be accessed through Podi Papare.