Sri Lanka Rugby name 7’s squad ahead of Asia Series

3-legged sevens series to kick off in September

Srinath Sooriyabandara is set to return once again in the national colours

National captain Sudarshana Muthuthanthri has been left out as Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR) has named a 29-member sevens pool ahead of the international sevens action that will take center stage in September. 

Muthuthanthri was the Tuskers 7s captain since 2016 after Fazil Marija’s retirement. 

The 29-member squad was finalized by the national selectors headed by Rohan Abeykoon following assessment based on the two sevens tournaments; the Dialog Inter Club 7’s and the Mercantile 7’s. 

Experienced campaigners Srinath Sooriyabandara, Danushka Ranjan and Danush Dayan make the pool. Kandy’s newest signing and the star from the concluded Dialog Inter Club 7’s 2019, Kavindu Perera was an unanimous choice. 

Last year Hapugoda had a full season in action for Havelock SC after battling two years with continuous injuryrugby

Sevens represent Mithun Hapugoda will make a re-entry to the national setup after missing out on over 4 years owing to a long battle with a series of injuries. 

The national body has also made provision for under 23’s to join the national pool with an intention of providing them with adequate exposure to work their way through to a national debut. 

The sevens veteran Anuruddha Wilwara although named in the squad is expected to miss out after sustaining injury in the final of the Mercantile 7’s 2019 playing for MAS.

Read more : Who will make the cut for the Asia Rugby U20 Sevens?

Sri Lanka under 20 7’s represents Chathura Seneviratne, Gamunu Chethiya and Janidu Dilshan have been drafted to the pool. The trio represented the country at the Asia Under 20 sevens series last year along with Naveen Henakankanamage and Dinuk Amerasinghe. 

Read more : Wanted – National 7’s Coach

The first leg of the Asia Sevens Series kicks off on 29th August in South Korea.

The 29-member pool is as follows: 

1 Adeesha Weerathunga Navy SC
2 Buddhima Piyarathane Navy SC
3 Chathura Seneviratne Navy SC
4 Anuruddha Wilwara Kandy SC
5 Danush Dayan Kandy SC
6 Danushka Ranjan Kandy SC
7 Jason Dissanayake Kandy SC
8 Kavindu Perera Kandy SC
9 Srinath Sooriyabandara Kandy SC
10 Tarinda Ratwatte Kandy SC
11 Thilina Wijesinghe Kandy SC
12 Shabeer Mohammed Kandy SC
13 Anuradha Herath CH & FC
14 Nishon Perera CH & FC
15 Dinuk Amerasinghe Havelock SC
16 Ishara Liyanage Havelock SC
17 Kavinda Keshan Havelock SC
18 Mithun Hapugoda Havelock SC
19 Naveen Henakankanamage Havelock SC
20 Janidu Dilshan CR & FC
21 Gamunu Chethiya CR & FC
22 Kevin Dixon CR & FC
23 Reeza Raffaideen CR & FC
24 Vishwa Ranaraja CR & FC
25 Ravindu Hettiarachchi Air Force
26 Thilina Bandara Air Force
27 Sachith Silva Police SC
28 Iroshan Silva Police SC 
29 Sudharaka Dikkumbura

Army SC