Sri Lanka Cricket domestic season to begin in October

Sri Lanka Cricket - Domestic Season 2021/2022

Sri Lanka Cricket - Domestic Season 2021/2022

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) is planning to commence the 2021/2022 domestic season, from the 20th of October, ThePapare learns.

In an email sent recently to all the participating clubs in the Major League tournament, SLC has set 20th of October as the proposed starting date of the tournament, with the expectation of the current quarantine curfew rules to be relaxed on the 1st of October.

The entire island has been under quarantine curfew since 20th of August due to the prevailing health situation. Due to the rising number of Covid cases in late August and early September, SLC postponed the start of the tournament, which was previously scheduled to begin on the 7th of September.

Read – Pakistan ‘A’ & Bangladesh U19s set to tour Sri Lanka

SLC has instructed clubs to start their preparations, adhering to the health guidelines issued by the Government, from the 2nd of October to play the Major League – Limited Overs Tournament from the 20th of October.

If and when the limited-overs tournament begins, Sri Lanka Cricket Tournament Committee, headed by Samantha Dodanwela, will make a decision on the fate of the Major League Three Day Tournament.

SLC has also made it mandatory for all the players to be vaccinated to participate in any of the domestic tournaments.

Read More – The new Sri Lanka Domestic Cricket structure explained

Commencement of the domestic season is crucial for the players as well as the SLC membership after they approved the new tournament structure in August.

>> More Cricket news <<

The new structure will come into effect from the 2021/2022 season with SLC deciding to scrap the existing ‘Tier A’ & ‘Tier B’ competitions for the clubs. Currently, there are 14 teams in ‘Tier A’ and 12 teams in ‘Tier B’. Up until now, three-day matches were played separately, while the limited-overs formats were played together.

In the new structure, all 26 teams currently with first-class status will be divided into two groups of 13 teams and will play three-day cricket in the Major Clubs League Tournament and 50-over cricket in the Major Clubs Limited Overs Tournament.

>> Visit the more Domestic Cricket news <<