Club sevens this weekend sans Kandy SC

ThePapare Rugby

The defending champions of inter club sevens Kandy SC opted not to take part in this year’s tournament which will  feature twelve (12) teams who will go head to head at the Race Course International Stadium this weekend. Matches will be played on Saturday from 12.30pm – 6.00pm and on Sunday 1.00pm –

With the Sri Lanka Super 7s, taking center stage last year, the Club 7s tournament was not held. However Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR) is focused on conducting as many seven’s tournaments as possible since it became an Olympic sport. In addition to this, Sri Lanka finished second in the Asia sevens series last year and will be looking to build on that success by producing a good system for 7s players.

However, a similar finish will be a gigantic task with Japan finishing last in the concluded World Rugby sevens series and therefore, they will be at full strength at the Asian series this year in a bid to win and go back to the top flight.

Kandy beat the Havelocks in the 2015 finals 17 – 10. This year both Havelocks and CR&FC will eye the big prize while CH&FC will come in with a new look team. The Sailors, Soldiers, Cops and Airmen will field in two teams each and they will look to create some upsets.

Meanwhile, Mr. Lasantha  Wijesuriya, Chairman – Kandy Sports Club said to “The players have to take part in Super Sevens followed by Mercantile sevens, so, we don’t want them to push for club sevens as well because we want them to be fresh ahead of our fifteens pre-season.”

Participating teams

CR & FC – A
CR & FC – B
Police – A
Police – B
Havelock – A
Army S C
Navy SC – A
Navy SC – B
Air Force SC – A
Air Force SC – B
Peteson SC