Sri Lanka announce Test squad for New Zealand series


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) released a 22-man squad for the upcoming two Test matches against New Zealand. 

This was the first selection decision after Asantha De Mel received an extension of one year as Chief Selector. The hosts are expected to prune down the squad to 15 members in the coming few days before they travel to Galle. 

Read More: New Zealand Test squad for Sri Lanka announced

Opening batsman Dimuth Karunaratne will continue to lead the Test team. He exceptionally led an inexperienced team in South Africa earlier this year to record an emphatic 2-0 win. 

Former Captain Dinesh Chandimal, who was dropped for the South Africa series, has been recalled into the squad. Chandimal is currently playing for the Montreal Tigers in the Global T20 Canada. Experienced spinner, Dilruwan Perera, has also been named along with Lasith Embuldeniya and Akila Dananjaya to form a strong spin contingent.

Experienced ex-captain, Angelo Mathews, who also missed the South Africa series due to a hamstring injury has deservedly named in the 22-member squad.   

Read More: Ashantha de Mel’s tenure extended for another year

Shehan Jayasuriya, who struck plenty of runs with the Sri Lanka ‘A’ team in India as well as fast-bowlers Chamika Karunaratne and Asitha Fernando have earned callups to the side. 

Sri Lanka will play the first Test match in Galle from 14th to 18th August and then play the second game in Colombo at P. Sara Oval from 22nd to 24th August. Both these matches will be a part of the ICC World Test Championship. 

Both the Test matches can be viewed from for all the fans in Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka Test Squad – Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya De Silva, Angelo Perera, Oshada Fernando, Danushka Gunathilake, Shehan Jayasuriya, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilruwan Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Asitha Fernando.

>> Sri Lanka v New Zealand 2019 <<