Sri Lanka ‘A’ squad announced for South Africa series

South Africa ‘A’ tour of Sri Lanka 2023


Sri Lanka ‘A’ squad has been announced for the upcoming unofficial ODI series against South Africa ‘A’.  

22-year-old Nipun Dananjaya will lead the 15-member squad. Most of the players who took part in the recently concluded One Day series against England Lions have retained their places in the squad.

Ashen Bandara, who amassed 419 runs in 8 matches at 59.85, becoming the top run-scorer of the recently concluded National Super League 50-over tournament, also sealed his place in the squad.

Lakshan Sandakan has also made the cut following his impressive performances during the National Super League 50-over tournament. Sandakan picked up 12 wickets in 8 matches at 19.91 finishing as the 4th highest wicket-taker of the tournament.

Sri Lanka ‘A’ team’s head coach Avishka Gunawardena emphasized that the upcoming One Day series between Sri Lanka ‘A’ and South Africa ‘A’ will be very vital for the fringe players as the national selectors are in the process of finalizing the squad for the upcoming ICC ODI World Cup Qualifiers.

“Players’ performances will be keenly observed during the One Day series, as the selectors want to have enough options to pick and choose players whenever required. Every player in the squad should be committed to fulfilling their given roles in this series. They shouldn’t worry about being selected for the World Cup Qualifiers. What they should do is play fearless cricket, but they shouldn’t look too far ahead of themselves and burn out due to the fear of failure. They should concentrate on what can be achieved during the upcoming series. If they do well, they will be rewarded,” Gunawardena told Sunday Times.

Sri Lanka ‘A’ team will take on the visiting South African ‘A’ team in the 3-match unofficial One Day series and 2-match Four Day series from 4th June to 22nd June.

Sri Lanka ‘A’ Squad: Nipun Dananjaya (Captain), Lasith Croosepulle, Nishan Madushka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Sahan Arachchige, Lahiru Udara, Dunith Wellalage, Janith Liyanage, Milan Ratnayake, Pramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Isitha Wijesundara, Lakshan Sandakan, Nimesh Vimukthi

South Africa ‘A’ Squad: Tony de Zorzi (Captain), Corbin Bosch, Dewald Brevis, Gerald Coetzee, Zubayr Hamza, Jordan Hermann, Tshepo Moreki, Senuran Muthusamy, Keegan Petersen, Sinethemba Qeshile, Lutho Sipamla, Tristan Stubbs, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams