Shiran Fernando, Raveen de Silva bowl Tamil Union to win

SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2023

Shiran Fernando, Raveen de Silva bowl Tamil Union to win

Four matches of the SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament were played today (31st May) at several venues across the island.

Colts Cricket Club registered a convincing win over Nugegoda SWC in their Group B encounter played today at SSC Grounds. Udith Madushan and Muditha Lakshan starred with the ball sharing 5 wickets between them for Colts CC.

Colts Cricket Club cruised to the target in 12 overs with 8 wickets in hand. Yasodha Lanka top scored for the victorious Colts CC with a knock of 45 runs off 34 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes.

Read – SSC prevail in low-scoring thriller to register first win

Roshan Jayatissa’s terrific spell with the ball helped Ace Capital CC record a 4-wicket win over Badureliya SC in the Group C encounter worked off today at SSC Grounds.

Batting first, Badureliya SC were restricted to a modest total of 114 despite Ranesh Silva’s fighting half-century. Ace Capital CC crossed over the line in the 15th over but lost 6 wickets in the pursuit of the target.

Tamil Union C & AC defeated Kurunegala YCC by 39 runs in the Group C encounter played today at NCC Grounds.

Tamil Union C & AC won the toss and opted to bat first in the ran-shortened 18-overs per-side game. They managed to post 128/7 in the allotted 18 overs on the back of the vital contributions made by Lasith Abeyrathna (28) and Kavindu Pathiratne (26).

A collective bowling effort led by Shiran Fernando and Raveen de Silva helped Tamil Union C & AC restrict the opposition to just 89 runs. Both Fernando and De Silva picked up 3 wickets each for Tamil Union C & AC.

Brief Scores

Nugegoda SWC – 88/9 (20) Tharindu Kaushal 21, Udith Madushan 3/17, Muditha Lakshan 2/14

Colts CC – 92/2 (12) Yashoda Lanka 45, Sangeeth Cooray 26

Result – Colts CC won by 8 wickets

Sebastianites C & AC – 116/7 (20) Abishek Liyanarachchi 45, Tharindu Rathnayake 21*, Madawa Warnapura 2/7, Himesh Ramanayake 2/12

Bloomfield C & AC – 118/6 (19) Nipun Karunanayake 25, Sandun Weerakkody 20, Madawa Warnapura 20

Result – Bloomfield C & AC won by 4 wickets

Tamil Union C & AC – 128/7 (18) Lasith Abeyrathna 28, Kavindu Pathiratne 26, Aravinda Premarathne 3/25

Kurunegala YCC – 89 (17.5) Tharinda Wijesinghe 25, Aravinda Premarathne 20, Shiran Fernando 3/16, Raveen De Silva 3/21

Result – Tamil Union C & AC won by 39 runs

Badureliya SC – 114 (17.5) Ranesh Silva 51, Anuk Fernando 22, Roshan Jayatissa 4/24, Sithum Dissanayake 2/18

Ace Capital CC – 115/6 (14.2) Thanuka Dabare 37, Chanaka Komasaru 2/25, Yesith Rupasinghe 2/30

Result – Ace Capital CC won by 4 wickets