Kasun Vidura stars for Chilaw Marians on rain-hit day one

SLC Major Clubs 3-Day Tournament 2023

SLC Major Clubs 3-Day Tournament 2023

Five matches of the SLC Major Clubs 3-Day Tournament 2023 commenced today (22nd September) at several venues across the island, while the first day’s play of the remaining five scheduled matches was washed out due to rain.

The bowlers dominated the encounter between Kandy Customs CC and Negombo CC, which commenced today at Katunayake. Having been asked to bat first, Kandy Customs batters faltered with the bat as they were bundled out for just 117 runs.

Negombo bowlers displayed a brilliant collective bowling effort to restrict the opposition to a modest total. Nishan Peiris Chanura Fernando stood out above the rest, scalping 3 wickets each.

>>Dasun Shanaka to lead Sri Lanka in ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

In reply, Negombo CC batters also didn’t have an easy passage of play as they lost 5 wickets for 85 runs at the close of play on day one.

Chilaw Marians dominated their encounter against Moors SC as they posted a solid total on the opening day at Maggona.

Having been put into bat first, Chilaw batters responded firmly, putting on 210 runs for 3 wickets at the close of play.

>>Sanity has prevailed

Former Cambrian batters Vishwa Chathuranga and Tharindu Amarasinghe provided a solid start at the top of the order, contributing with vital half-centuries. No. 4 batter Kasun Vidura then piled on the runs, scoring an unbeaten 82 runs off 108 balls with 11 fours.

Brief Scores 

Kandy Customs Cricket Club – 117 (34) Sahan Kosala 51, Sameen Kandanearachchi 34, Nishan Peiris 3/24, Chanura Fernando 3/28, Upul Indrasiri 2/34

Negombo Cricket Club – 85/5 (34) Buddhika Sanjeewa 3/27, Gayan Sirisoma 2/24

Stumps – Day 1

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club – 210/3 (47.1) Kasun Vidura 82*, Vishwa Chathuranga 53, Tharindu Amarasinghe 53

Stumps – Day 1

Burgher Recreation Club – 174/3 (56) Dulash Udayanga 48*, Leo Fransisco 39, Abhishek Raman 38, Risira Weerasuriya 30* Sahan Adeesha Appuhami 2/46

Stumps – Day 1

Air Force Sports Club – 92/4 (35.2) Udayawansha Parakrama 34, Sahil Dias 22, Geeth Kumara 20*, Tharusha Fernando 2/12

Stumps – Day 1

Kurunegala Youth Cricket Club -136/4 (35.1) Damith Perera 57, Gayan Maneeshan 21, Dilhara Polgampola 21, Wanuja Sahan Kumara 2/38

Stumps – Day 1