Determined ton by Dineth Madurawala saves St. Joseph’s College

Schools Cricket Roundup

18-year old Dineth Madurawala saved St. Joseph’s College from an embarrassing defeat with a match-saving unbeaten century against Thurstan College in their ‘Singer Trophy’ U19 division 1 ‘Group D’ encounter at Thurstan Grounds.

Right-handed Madurawala played the innings of his life remaining unbeaten on 144 from 391 balls with 20 fours and a six to anchor St. Joseph’s College to 315 for 9 in 120 overs in their second innings.

The visitors resumed day two on 84 for 4 needing 120 runs to avoid an innings defeat. Madurawala and Pahan Perera added 84 for the 5th wicket before the latter was caught at deep mid-wicket for a well-made 42 off left-arm spinner, Sandaru Dias.

Vice-captain Shewon Fonseka provided able assistance with a fine 44 while the rest of the tail hanged in with Madurawala as the Josephians lost only 5 wickets in the whole of day two.

Despite being bowled out for 23 in the first innings due to some excellent swing bowling by Charana Nanayakkara who went on to take 8 wickets for 15 runs, the Josephians had the final laugh as they battled with great spirit and determination to draw the game.

This is Madurawala’s 2nd century in the season. His superb temperament and excellent patience at the crease helped him stroke a few glorious cover-drives through the off-side during his marathon innings.

St Joseph’s – 23 all out in 13.5 overs: Charana Nanayakkara 8/15.

Thurstan – 227 all out in 46 overs:  Yeshan Wickramarachchi 69, Nipun Lakshan 38, Charana Nanayakkara 20, Jehan Daniel 5/81, Havin Perera 3/49.

St. Joseph’s (2nd inn) – 315/9 in 120 overs: Dineth Madurawala 144*, Pahan Perera 42, Shewon Fonseka 44, Jehan Daniel 21, Charana Nanayakkara 3/76, Sandaru Dias 4/51.

St. Sebastian’s College vs Richmond College

Skipper Kamindu Mendis slammed a memorable match-saving century in his comeback game to help Richmond College force a draw against St. Sebastian’s College in their ‘Group A’ encounter at Moratuwa.

After being enforced to follow-on, the Richmondites fought valiantly in their second innings as Mendis who scored a half-ton in the first innings continued his good form scoring 114 in the second innings. For the Sebastianites, left-arm spinner, Praveen Jayawickrama grabbed a 6-wicket match bag. On day one, Damian De Buyzer cracked 129 to help the home team reach 340.

St. Sebastian’s – 340 all out in 60.1 overs: Damian De Buyzer 129, Tharusha Fernando 83, Nuwanidu Fernando 31, Sandun Mendis 3/117, Kaveesha Abhishek 2/28.

Richmond – 220 all out in 49.1 overs: Dhananjaya Lakshan 70, Kamindu Mendis 59, Thaveesha Abishek 31, Adithya Siriwardana 22*, Tharusha Fernando 3/41, Praveen Jayawickrama 3/48, Nuwanidu Fernando 2/44.

Richmond (2nd inn F/O) – 262/7 in 76 overs; Kamindu Mendis 114, Chamikara Hewage 48, Thaveesha Abishek 45, Dhananjaya Lakshan 21, Adithya Siriwardana 20*, Nimesh Bandara 3/38, Praveen Jayawickrama 3/86.

De Mazenod College vs Maliyadeva College

Right-handed Krishan Sanjula of De Mazenod College, Kanadana recorded the highest individual score of the current U19 division one cricket season when he slammed 253 against Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala in their drawn ‘Group D’ encounter at Kandana.

Captain, Sanjula hammered 27 fours and 8 sixes during his magnificent 249-ball 253 as he scored 78.5% of the total score. Maliyadeva fought hard in their second innings to save the game.

Maliyadeva – 167 all out in 41.3 overs: Dananjaya Premarathne 51, Damitha Silva 27, Supun Sumanarathne 26, Deshan Fernando 5/39, Roshitha Senevirathne 5/42.

De Mazenod – 322 all out in 78 overs: Krishan Sanjula 253, Deshan Fernando 20, Damitha Silva 5/92.

Maliyadeva (2nd inn) – 210/7 in 70 overs: Dulaj Ranathunga 47, Dilshan Kollure 27, Damitha Silva 24, Kaveen Bandara 18*, Pavithra Liyanage 26*, Avishka Indrajith 1/13.

D.S Senanayake College vs Anuradhapura Central College

DS Senanayake College registered their first victory in the season as they defeated Anuradhapura Central College by 9 wickets during their ‘Group C’ encounter in their own backyard.

DS Senanayke – 306/6 declared in 52 overs: Sashika Gamage 137*, Vihan Gunasekara 51, Shehzaad Ameen 46, Dasun Himasha 25, Muditha Lakshan 24, Maduranga Sri Chandrarathna 2/108.

Anuradhapura Central – 134 all out in 47.2 overs: Dhananjaya Thamvita 35, Maduranga Sri Chandrarathna 24, Muditha Lakshan 3/22, Dasun Himasha 3/23.

Anuradhapura Central (2nd inn F/O) – 209 all out in 58.5 overs: Sadaru Madushan 78, Dhananjaya Thamvita 38, Yasith Samaradiwakara 3/63, Muditha Lakshan 3/59.

DS Senanayke (2nd inn) – 40/1 in 5 overs.