Shanto to lead Bangladesh’s squad for T20 World Cup

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024


On the back of a solid 4-1 win over Zimbabwe in the recently-concluded T20I home series, Bangladesh announced their 15-member squad for next month’s marquee event. 

The squad also features experienced all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who returned to T20I cricket after a gap of nearly a year. Shakib was named in the squad for Bangladesh’s final two T20Is against Zimbabwe and impressed with a four-wicket haul in the fourth game. 

There were no major surprises in Bangladesh’s 15-player squad for the T20 World Cup, with young quick Tanzim Hasan Sakib earning selection after two appearances against Zimbabwe. 

Selectors also included left-arm quick Shoriful Islam, after the 22-year-old was rested for the final two matches with Zimbabwe. Afif Hossain Dhrubo and Hasan Mahmud will travel to the tournament as reserves. 

Bangladesh are drawn in Group D alongside South Africa, Sri Lanka, Netherlands and Nepal for next month’s event, with their first contest coming against Sri Lanka in Dallas on June 7. 

Bangladesh squad: Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Taskin Ahmed, Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad, Jaker Ali Anik, Tanvir Islam, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.  


Travelling reserves: Afif Hossain, Hasan Mahmud