Shamarh Brooks to lead Windies A in Sri Lanka series

Shamarh Brooks to lead Windies A in Sri Lanka series - by cricbuzz
Vishaul Singh, who has played three Tests for Windies, was named the vice-captain of the side. © Getty

Batsman Shamarh Brooks has been appointed captain of the 13-member Windies A squad for the first two of the four-day matches in the upcoming home series against Sri Lanka A. The squad also includes two international players in left-arm pacer Sheldon Cottrell and batsman Vishaul Singh.

Cottrell impressed in the recently-concluded Caribbean Premier League 2017, scalping 11 wickets in six outings for runners-up St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, at an average of 12.54. Vishaul, on the other hand, has been named vice-captain for the six-match series.

Others who earned a spot in the side for the A series after impressing in the domestic T20 league are all-rounder Rahkeem Cornwall and fast bowler Oshane Thomas. Batsman Sunil Ambris, who is currently with the senior ODI squad in England, has also been named in the 13-member side.

Chief selector Courtney Browne feels the series is an opportunity for the fringe players to press their claim for a spot in the international side. “Our A-Team is the feeding ground for our senior men’s team and so we are looking to continue the development of our second-tier players,” Browne said. “With a strong focus on consistency in selection, this series is another opportunity for them to continue to press their claims for a place in the senior side, thus placing selection pressure on incumbents, ensuring there is healthy competition for spots and growing our talent pool.”

Sri Lanka A will play three four-day games and as many List-A matches, starting October 11 in Jamaica.

Windies A squad: Shamarh Brooks (captain), Vishal Singh (vice-captain), Sunil Ambris, John Campbell, Yannic Cariah, Rahkeem Cornwall, Sheldon Cottrell, Jahmar Hamilton, Montcin Hodge, Damion Jacobs, Keon Joseph, Reynard Leveridge, Oshane Thomas