Pathan steals Lankan win with late blitz

Road Safety World Series 2020

Road Safety World Series 2020

Sri Lanka Legends lost their second game in the Road Safety World Series today after failing to defend their 138 runs against India Legends at the DY Patil Sports Academy Grounds in Mumbai. The hosts won by 5 wickets with 8 balls remaining.

The Lankan bowlers started off their run-defense brilliantly with the usual first-ball wicket from Chaminda Vaas. Sachin Tendulkar’s dismissal was the followed by Virender Sehwag’s wicket when Upul Chandana turned back the years with a direct hit proving why he’s considered one of the greatest fielders to play the great game.

Sri Lanka Legends beat Australia Legends in Mumbai

India were put in to further trouble as Vaas dismissed Yuvraj Singh in the 5th over and were reeling on 19/3. India were in need of 39 runs in the last 3 overs with Irfan Pathan unbeaten on 26 off 22 deliveries after Mohammad Kaif, who battled for India with a 45-ball 46 was dismissed in the 15th over.

Then came the disastrous over for Sri Lanka as Pathan took on Farveez Maharoof, who until then had given away only 8 runs in his 2 overs, for 26 runs in a single over. The 19th over was then bowled by skipper TM Dilshan surprising a few as Vaas too had 1 more over up his sleeve. Pathan needed just 4 deliveries of that Dilshan over as he scored the required 13 runs with 3 boundaries and a single. Manpreet Gony too played a vital role in the 58-run match-winning partnership with a 8-ball knock of 11 runs including a 6.

In batting, Sri Lanka once again put on a collective effort just like in their win against Australia last Sunday. Even though they scored less this time, it was the same batsmen who top-scored with scores around 20-30. Sri Lanka Legends will now be facing the South African Legends on the 13th Friday in their 3rd game.

Brief Scores

SL-L – 138/8 (20) Chamara Kapugedera 23, TM Dilshan 23,  Romesh Kaluwitharana 21, Sachithra Senanayake 19, Rangana Herath 12*, Farveez Maharoof 10, Thilan Thushara 10, Munaf Patel 4/19

IND-L – 139/5 (18.4) Irfan Pathan 57*, Mohammad Kaif 46, Chaminda Vaas 2/5, Sachithra Senanayake 1/19, Rangana Herath 1/22

<<For More Cricket News>>