Left-handed hard-hitting opening batsman Ramith Rambukwella provided the perfect start for the 4th Singer-MCA Premier League T20 Tournament as four pre-quarter-final matches were conducted in two venues.

MAS Unichela vs Sampath Bank

Rambukwella smashed 10 sixes and 9 fours during his 31-ball unbeaten 97 as MAS Unichela thrashed Sampath Bank by 8 wickets at MCA Grounds.

Former Sri Lanka T20 player Hasantha Fernando’s fifty guided Sampath Bank to a reasonable 139 before Rambukwella took MAS Unichela home in 8.5 overs.

Sampath Bank – 139/8 in 20 overs: Hasantha Fernando 53, Dinuk Wickramanayake 30, Dumindu Thilakarathne 2/22, Ishara Amarsinghe 2/26, Farveez Maharoof 2/33

MAS Unichela – 140/2 in 8.5 overs: Ramith Rambukwella 97*, Farveez Maharoof 29*

Hatton National Bank vs Hayleys

Sachithra Serasinghe flicking off his pads during his unbeaten knock of 52 for Hayleys against HNB.

Hayleys advanced to the quarter-finals beaten HNB comfortably by 9 wickets at De Zoysa Stadium in Moratuwa.

After being sent into bat, HNB managed only 115 all out. Former Royal College left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya picked up four wickets for the winners while Sachithra Serasinghe struck an unbeaten fifty.

HNB – 115 all out in 19.5 overs: Madawa Warnapura 51, Navindu Nirmal 29, Binura Fernando 2/14, Lasith Embuldeniya 4/17.

Hayleys – 119/1 in 14.2 overs: Sachithra Serasinghe 52*, Ron Chandragupththa 44*, Andy Solomons 22.

John Keells vs Commercial Credit

John Keells managed to scrape through to a close two-wicket win over Commercial Credit in their match worked out at MCA grounds.

John Keells chasing 130 runs to win lost 8 wickets as Malinda Pushpakumara starred with both bat and ball for the losing team.

Commercial Credit – 129/9 in 20 overs: Sanitha de Mel 37, Malinda Pushpakumara 24, Chamikara Edirisinghe 2/28.

John Keells – 130/8 in 17 overs: Banuka Rajapaksa 37, Vikum Sanjaya 27*, Lahiru Milantha 20, Malinda Pushpakumara 2/26, Asitha Fernando 2/42

Dimo vs Kanrich Finance

Right-arm off-spinner Ramesh Mendis celebrating a wicket for Dimo against Kanrich Finance

Dimo outclassed Kanrich Finance by 6 wickets in a low-scoring match at De Soysa Stadium in Moratuwa.

Three bowlers took two wickets each as Dimo bowled out Kanrich Finance for just 101 before left-handed basher Thikshila De Silva smashed 54 quick runs to take Dimo to the quarter-finals.

Kanrich Finance – 101 all out in 18.4 overs: Vishwa Deemantha 29, Ramesh Mendis 2/09, Nisala Tharaka 2/14, Kavishka Anjula 2/24

Dimo – 102/4 in 14 overs: Thikshila de Silva 54, Raveen Sayer 2/11

Quarter-Final lineup

1st Quarter Final – MAS Unichela vs John Keells – Moratuwa – 16th November
2nd Quarter Final – Dimo vs Hayleys – Moratuwa – 16th November