A win for Army, a miss for CCC and more TONS

SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ tournament

Another day of the SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ tournament 2019/20 was dominated by the batsman, as 3 new centuries were scored. Lahiru Udara, however, fell short of a triple-ton. Interestingly, two 5-wicket hauls also were recorded.

Four games were concluded today with just one of them producing a result. Even though two more games came close to producing results, stubborn resistance from the batsmen ensured draws.

Triple for Ramesh Mendis; Double for Lahiru Udara

Army SC vs BRC – Group A

Toss – BRC
Venue – SLAOC Intl Cricket Stadium, Dombagoda

The soldiers were done by lunch as they completed a massive win by an innings and 175 runs in Dombagoda wasting just 31.3 overs of the final day’s play. Dushan Vimukthi who bagged 5 wickets in the first innings starred in the second innings as well claiming 4 scalps.

Army SC – 435 (125.4) Lakshan Edirisinghe 99, Dushan Vimukthi 82, Asela Gunaratne 82, Himasha Liyanage 48, Seekkuge Prasanna 42, Duvindu Thilakarathne 4/80, Sagar Mangalorkar 2/64

BRC – 88 (25.5) Tharindu Kaushal 19*, Dushan Vimukthi 5/20, Heshan Hettiarachchi 3/30, & 172 (48.1) (F/O) Sagar Mangalorkar 50, Shanuka Dulaj 45, Dushan Vimukthi 4/49, Sanjeew Coomaraswamy 2/33


CCC vs SSC – Group A

Toss – CCC
Venue – CCC

SSC survived defeat by a whisker thanks to successful a blackthorn by their tail-enders. Spinners Akash Senaratne and Jeffrey Vandersay survived 6.1 overs after the 9th wicket fell. Fast-bowler Himesh Ramanayake ate up 41 deliveries batting along-side skipper Dasun Shanaka who batted 76 deliveries scoring a half-century. 

Early in the day, CCC compiled 133 quick runs for the 2nd innings swelling their first innings lead of 288 to a huge 421, with the help of a lively knock by opener Ron Chandraguptha. However, Wanindu Hasaranga’s marathon spell which removed 6 SSC wickets was just not enough to take CCC over the line as they fell short by just 1 wicket.

CCC – 548 (119) Lasith Abeyratne 153, Minod Bhanuka 114, Ashan Priyanjan 90, Pawan Rathnayaka 71*, Pawantha Weerasinghe 37, Akash Senaratne 4/120, Charith Asalanka 2/53, Himesh Ramanayaka 2/71, Tharindu Ratnayake 2/99 & 133/1d (28) Ron Chandraguptha 70*, Pawantha Weerasinghe 42

SSC – 260 (68.1) Kavindu Kulasekara 84, Pasindu Sooriyabandara 48, Charith Asalanka 33, Sandun Weerakkody 24, Akash Senarathna 23, Usman Ishak 4/67, Malinda Pushpakumara 4/68 & 178/9 (56) Dasun Shanaka 52, Sandun Weerakkody 33, Sohan De Livera 24, Wanindu Hasaranga 6/76, Malinda Pushpakumara 2/49


Photos: CCC vs SSC | SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ tournament 2019/20

Moors SC vs Negombo CC – Group A

Toss – Negombo CC
Venue – Moors

A match-saving century from Negombo CC opener Ashen Silva ensured a draw at Moors grounds as the visiting team survived a certain defeat. Following on after conceding Moors SC a huge lead of 346, Negombo CC were still 29 runs behind at the close of play.

Ashen was supported by half-centuries from the former skipper Angelo Jayasinghe and Madawa Warnapura as their solid batting effort stole the limelight of the day.

Moors SC – 652/8d (109.1) Ramesh Mendis 300*, Sachitra Serasinghe 149, Nimanda Madushanka 90, Charitha Kumarasinghe 51, Roshen Fernando 3/101, Saad Nasim 3/197, Uoul Indrasiri 2/153

Negombo CC – 306 (69.3) Rosco Thattil 77, Saad Nasim 58, Lakshitha Manasinghe 53, Dilshan Munaweera 43, Pasindu Lakshanka 23, Ramesh Mendis 4/74 Sachithra Serasinghe 3/70, Kavishka Anjula 2/46, & 317/5 (86) (F/O) Ashen Silva 102, Angelo Jayasinghe 69*, Madawa Warnapura 64, Saad Nasim 28, Dilshan Munaweera 27, Praveen Jayawickrama 2/67, Chatura Randunu 2/84


Photos: Moors SC vs Negombo SC | SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ tournament 2019/20

Tamil Union C & AC vs Saracens SC – Group B

Toss – Tamil Union C & AC
Venue – P. Sara Oval

Hosts Tamil Union C & AC and Saracens SC were involved in a tame draw as the visiting team ended the game with major honors. After gaining a 46-run first-innings lead, Saracens SC scored 206 runs losing 7 wickets in their second innings today in the final day of the game.

Saracens SC – 296/9d (84.5) Gamindu Kanishka 129*, Milinda Siriwardana 76, Chamikara Edirisinghe 28, Jeevan Mendis 4/68, Vimukthi Perera 3/46 & 206/7 (74.4) Pramod Maduwantha 54*, Milinda Siriwardana 38, Navindu Vithanage 32, Sithara Gimhan 26, Ashen Bandara 26, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 3/51, Kasun Madushanka 2/48

Tamil Union CA & C – 250 (93.2) Jeewan Mendis 83, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 26, Manoj Sarathchandra 26, Prasansana Jayamanne 23, Mohomed Dilshad 3/34, Chamikara Edirisinghe 2/71, Saliya Saman 2/38


Photos: Tamil Union C & AC vs Saracens SC | SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ tournament 2019/20

NCC vs Ragama CC – Group B

Toss – Ragama CC
Venue – NCC

NCC wicket-keeper batsman almost scored the second triple-century of the season as he, unfortunately, had to walk out unbeaten on 290. However, he was fortunate enough to break the record for the highest first-class score for NCC going past Sri Lankan Cricket legend Kumar Sangakkara’s 285.

Ragama CC in reply looked like they were in for a huge total with two centurions. National discards Roshen Silva and Udara Jayasundera were the centurions for Ragama CC as the latter remained unbeaten 105.

NCC – 552 (101.4) Lahiru Udara 290*, Angelo Perera 74, Chaturanga De Silva 57, Sahan Arachchige 55, Chamika Karunarathne 31, Amila Aponso 5/152, Ishan Jayarathne 3/100

Ragama CC – 269/3 (68.5) Roshen Silva 139, Udara Jayasundera 105*, Chaturanga De Silva 2/81


>>For more club cricket news click here<<