Home Cricket National Cricket Oshada’s maiden ton delays inevitable Pakistan win

Oshada’s maiden ton delays inevitable Pakistan win

Sri Lanka tour of Pakistan 2019 | 2nd Test – Day 4

Sri Lanka were almost defeated on the 4th day of the 2nd Test against Pakistan at the National Stadium in Karachi as the visitors lost 7 wickets in their chase of 476 set after a staggering batting effort of 555/3d by the hosts in their 2nd innings.

>>Sri Lanka v Pakistan 2019<<

The Karachi surface which assisted the bowlers on day 1 and 2, causing low 1st innings totals for both teams, seemed like a completely transformed surface by the time Pakistan started to pile up runs in their 2nd innings. Suggesting that the wicket has improved (for batting) even more on day 4, Pakistan scored 160 runs in the 27 overs bowled before lunch at a run-rate of almost 6.

With both overnight batsmen, Azhar Ali and Babar Azam reaching tons Pakistan set a daunting target of 476 for the tourists. Even the number looked like a difficult target, the way Azhar, Babar and Mohammad Rizwan, in the latter part of the session, batted, suggested that Sri Lanka still may have an outside chance of winning if they keep wickets in hand and bat through the remaining 5 sessions.

Babar’s haste towards 100 following Azhar’s stumping off Lasith Embuldeniya, after he scored his first Test ton as Captain and the first since his last Test ton in December 2018, showed how good the wicket was despite some poor lengths by the tired Lankan bowlers. However, Kumara still looked impressive beating the batsmen on quite a few occasions.

Read More : Mammoth opening stand blows Sri Lankan chances apart

Throwing all analysis to the bin, the fresh Pakistani paces came all guns blazing at the vulnerable Lankan batsmen as they kept on picking wickets regularly. They kept bowling in the corridor of uncertainty with slight movement giving the Lankan batsmen the opportunity to poke at away deliveries. Starting with the skipper Dimuth Karunaratne, Pakistan chipped away with 3 quick wickets followed by Kusal Mendis and Angelo Mathews, all nicking to the wicket keeper or the slip cordon.

Dinesh Chandimal was then undone by the pace of 16-year old Naseem Shah, as he missed a straight delivery. Centurion in the previous game, Dhananjaya De Silva’s dismissal by Yasir Shah off an inside edge ticked the only missing box for Pakistan as their lead spinner joined the party after a long layoff.

Niroshan Dickwella joining Oshada Fernando and together the pair started playing freely, proving that the wicket was still batsmen-friendly and the wickets lost were solely because of good lines by the Pakistani bowlers. From 97/5, the two expressive batsmen added 104 runs for the 6th wicket during which both of them went past 50.

Both batsmen played many sweeps while Dickwella also displayed his expertise in executing the reverse sweep as well. ‘Live by the sweep, die by the sweep’, Dickwella succumbed to the Pakistani part-time spinner Haris Sohail missing his favourite reverse sweep to fall for 65.

Oshada on the other hand reached his maiden Test ton in the penultimate over of the day before Dilruwan Perera became young Naseem’s 3rd wicket in the last ball of the day.


Sri Lanka
271/10 (85.5) & 212/10 (62.5)
191/10 (59.3) & 555/3 (131)
Shan Masood b Vishwa Fernando5151033.33
Abid Ali lbw b Lahiru Kumara38667157.58
Azhar Ali b Vishwa Fernando02000.00
Babar Azam st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya60968162.50
Asad Shafiq c Vishwa Fernando b Lahiru Kumara631266050.00
Haris Sohail lbw b Lasith Embuldeniya9300130.00
Mohammad Rizwan b Lahiru Kumara4210200.00
Yasir Shah lbw b Lahiru Kumara01000.00
Mohammad Abbas c Dhananjaya de Silva b Lasith Embuldeniya09000.00
Shaheen Shah Afridi c Angelo Mathews b Lasith Embuldeniya591055.56
Naseem Shah not out1100100.00
Extras6 (b 4 , lb 2 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total191/10 (59.3 Overs, RR: 3.21)
Fall of Wickets 1-10 (6.1) Shan Masood, 2-10 (6.3) Azhar Ali, 3-65 (20.3) Abid Ali, 4-127 (39.5) Babar Azam, 5-167 (51.5) Haris Sohail, 6-172 (52.2) Mohammad Rizwan, 7-172 (52.3) Yasir Shah, 8-179 (55.5) Mohammad Abbas, 9-185 (58.1) Asad Shafiq, 10-191 (59.3) Shaheen Shah Afridi,
Vishwa Fernando1333122.38
Lahiru Kumara1854942.72
Dimuth Karunaratne1011011.00
Lasith Embuldeniya20.337143.50
Dilruwan Perera702303.29
Oshada Fernando c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi4190021.05
Dimuth Karunaratne b Mohammad Abbas25424059.52
Kusal Mendis c Haris Sohail b Mohammad Abbas13271048.15
Angelo Mathews c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi13441029.55
Lasith Embuldeniya c Asad Shafiq b Mohammad Abbas13341038.24
Dinesh Chandimal c Shan Masood b Haris Sohail7414310051.75
Dhananjaya de Silva c Mohammad Abbas b Shaheen Shah Afridi32562157.14
Niroshan Dickwella b Mohammad Abbas21353060.00
Dilruwan Perera lbw b Shaheen Shah Afridi48846157.14
Vishwa Fernando not out5320015.62
Lahiru Kumara b Shaheen Shah Afridi02000.00
Extras23 (b 4 , lb 10 , nb 3, w 6, pen 0)
Total271/10 (85.5 Overs, RR: 3.16)
Fall of Wickets 1-28 (6.2) Oshada Fernando, 2-39 (12.2) Dimuth Karunaratne, 3-61 (16.2) Kusal Mendis, 4-78 (26.3) Lasith Embuldeniya, 5-80 (29.1) Angelo Mathews, 6-147 (47.3) Dhananjaya de Silva, 7-184 (58.6) Niroshan Dickwella, 8-235 (72.5) Dinesh Chandimal, 9-271 (85.3) Dilruwan Perera, 10-271 (85.5) Lahiru Kumara,
Shaheen Shah Afridi26.557752.91
Mohammad Abbas2795542.04
Naseem Shah1617104.44
Yasir Shah1304303.31
Haris Sohail301113.67
Shan Masood c Oshada Fernando b Lahiru Kumara1351987368.18
Abid Ali lbw b Lahiru Kumara17428121161.92
Azhar Ali st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya11815713075.16
Babar Azam not out1001318176.34
Mohammad Rizwan not out211920110.53
Extras7 (b 0 , lb 5 , nb 0, w 2, pen 0)
Total555/3 (131 Overs, RR: 4.24)
Fall of Wickets 1-278 (68.3) Shan Masood, 2-355 (90.1) Abid Ali, 3-503 (123.1) Azhar Ali,
Vishwa Fernando24210504.38
Lahiru Kumara29513924.79
Lasith Embuldeniya50419313.86
Dilruwan Perera2119404.48
Dhananjaya de Silva701902.71

Dimuth Karunaratne c Mohammad Rizwan b Mohammad Abbas16282057.14
Oshada Fernando c Asad Shafiq b Yasir Shah10218013056.67
Kusal Mendis c Babar Azam b Naseem Shah04000.00
Angelo Mathews c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi19331057.58
Dinesh Chandimal lbw b Naseem Shah229006.90
Dhananjaya de Silva b Yasir Shah08000.00
Niroshan Dickwella b Haris Sohail657611085.53
Dilruwan Perera c Mohammad Rizwan b Naseem Shah581062.50
Lasith Embuldeniya c Mohammad Rizwan b Naseem Shah01000.00
Vishwa Fernando b Naseem Shah09000.00
Lahiru Kumara not out01000.00
Extras3 (b 0 , lb 3 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total212/10 (62.5 Overs, RR: 3.37)
Fall of Wickets 1-39 (9.4) Dimuth Karunaratne, 2-40 (10.3) Kusal Mendis, 3-70 (20.4) Angelo Mathews, 4-96 (30.1) Dinesh Chandimal, 5-97 (31.5) Dhananjaya de Silva, 6-201 (57.3) Niroshan Dickwella, 7-212 (60.1) Dilruwan Perera, 8-212 (60.2) Lasith Embuldeniya, 9-212 (61.5) Oshada Fernando, 10-212 (62.5) Vishwa Fernando,
Shaheen Shah Afridi1435113.64
Mohammad Abbas1223312.75
Naseem Shah12.543152.48
Yasir Shah2038424.20
Haris Sohail401012.50

>>Click Here For More Cricket News<<