Home Cricket National Cricket Sri Lanka lose advantage despite gaining 80-run lead

Sri Lanka lose advantage despite gaining 80-run lead

Sri Lanka managed to fight their way to a competitive total of 271 in their 1st innings, taking a 80 run lead over hosts Pakistan on day 2 of the 2nd Test between the sides. However, the Pakistani openers managed to survive 14 overs before the close of play, bringing the deficit down to 23.

Mohammed Abbas was the 1st man to strike on day to as he removed night-watchman Lasith Embuldeniya for 13. Angelo Mathews didn’t last long in the middle either, playing for the angle off Shaheen Shah Afridi and inside edging one to the keeper Rizwan. With Mathews gone, Sri Lanka were in a spot of bother at 80/5 when Dhananjaya de Silva and Dinesh Chandimal came together for what was Sri Lanka’s best partnership of the innings.

Read More : Top order falters after bowlers shine for Sri Lanka

The pair put on 67 runs for the 6th wicket and were beginning to look more comfortable by the minute, before de Silva top edged a short one from Afridi to the man at fine-leg. The left-armer produced some extra bounce and although de Silva tried to roll his wrists over the ball, he could not control the ball and was well caught by Abbas who had to make some ground to get to the catch.

Chandimal, who made just 2 in the 1st Test match, battled against Afridi, who bowled well in spells, to go into lunch unbeaten on 42. The post lunch session was when the going got tougher for Sri Lanka, with the hosts drying up the runs to a great degree. 

Afridi was the pick of the bowlers, moving the ball in and troubling the batsmen with both the short balls as well the pitched up ones. Dilruwan Perera stood strong against the barrage of bouncers from the Pakistanis after Chandimal’s dismissal for 73, taking a few blows to the body, including one on the face off the bowling of Naseem Shah.

A 36-run partnership between him and Vishwa Fernando enabled Sri Lanka to stretch the lead close to the 100-run mark, but unfortunately Afridi removed him and No. 11 Lahiru Kumara 2 deliveries later to end the Sri Lankan innings. Afridi managed his 1st 5-fer in Tests and career-best bowling figures of 5/77. Abbas played a brilliant supporting role to finish with 4/55.

In reply the Pakistani openers Shan Masood and Abid Ali started strongly, scoring at a healthy run rate to go to stumps unbeaten on 21 and 32 respectively. Sri Lanka did not have many opportunities, with one close LBW shout going Masood’s way despite the visitors’ review.


Sri Lanka
271/10 (85.5) & 212/7 (60)
191/10 (59.3) & 555/3 (131)
Shan Masood b Vishwa Fernando5151033.33
Abid Ali lbw b Lahiru Kumara38667157.58
Azhar Ali b Vishwa Fernando02000.00
Babar Azam st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya60968162.50
Asad Shafiq c Vishwa Fernando b Lahiru Kumara631266050.00
Haris Sohail lbw b Lasith Embuldeniya9300130.00
Mohammad Rizwan b Lahiru Kumara4210200.00
Yasir Shah lbw b Lahiru Kumara01000.00
Mohammad Abbas c Dhananjaya de Silva b Lasith Embuldeniya09000.00
Shaheen Shah Afridi c Angelo Mathews b Lasith Embuldeniya591055.56
Naseem Shah not out1100100.00
Extras6 (b 4 , lb 2 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total191/10 (59.3 Overs, RR: 3.21)
Fall of Wickets 1-10 (6.1) Shan Masood, 2-10 (6.3) Azhar Ali, 3-65 (20.3) Abid Ali, 4-127 (39.5) Babar Azam, 5-167 (51.5) Haris Sohail, 6-172 (52.2) Mohammad Rizwan, 7-172 (52.3) Yasir Shah, 8-179 (55.5) Mohammad Abbas, 9-185 (58.1) Asad Shafiq, 10-191 (59.3) Shaheen Shah Afridi,
Vishwa Fernando1333122.38
Lahiru Kumara1854942.72
Dimuth Karunaratne1011011.00
Lasith Embuldeniya20.337143.50
Dilruwan Perera702303.29
Oshada Fernando c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi4190021.05
Dimuth Karunaratne b Mohammad Abbas25424059.52
Kusal Mendis c Haris Sohail b Mohammad Abbas13271048.15
Angelo Mathews c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi13441029.55
Lasith Embuldeniya c Asad Shafiq b Mohammad Abbas13341038.24
Dinesh Chandimal c Shan Masood b Haris Sohail7414310051.75
Dhananjaya de Silva c Mohammad Abbas b Shaheen Shah Afridi32562157.14
Niroshan Dickwella b Mohammad Abbas21353060.00
Dilruwan Perera lbw b Shaheen Shah Afridi48846157.14
Vishwa Fernando not out5320015.62
Lahiru Kumara b Shaheen Shah Afridi02000.00
Extras23 (b 4 , lb 10 , nb 3, w 6, pen 0)
Total271/10 (85.5 Overs, RR: 3.16)
Fall of Wickets 1-28 (6.2) Oshada Fernando, 2-39 (12.2) Dimuth Karunaratne, 3-61 (16.2) Kusal Mendis, 4-78 (26.3) Lasith Embuldeniya, 5-80 (29.1) Angelo Mathews, 6-147 (47.3) Dhananjaya de Silva, 7-184 (58.6) Niroshan Dickwella, 8-235 (72.5) Dinesh Chandimal, 9-271 (85.3) Dilruwan Perera, 10-271 (85.5) Lahiru Kumara,
Shaheen Shah Afridi26.557752.91
Mohammad Abbas2795542.04
Naseem Shah1617104.44
Yasir Shah1304303.31
Haris Sohail301113.67
Shan Masood c Oshada Fernando b Lahiru Kumara1351987368.18
Abid Ali lbw b Lahiru Kumara17428121161.92
Azhar Ali st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya11815713075.16
Babar Azam not out1001318176.34
Mohammad Rizwan not out211920110.53
Extras7 (b 0 , lb 5 , nb 0, w 2, pen 0)
Total555/3 (131 Overs, RR: 4.24)
Fall of Wickets 1-278 (68.3) Shan Masood, 2-355 (90.1) Abid Ali, 3-503 (123.1) Azhar Ali,
Vishwa Fernando24210504.38
Lahiru Kumara29513924.79
Lasith Embuldeniya50419313.86
Dilruwan Perera2119404.48
Dhananjaya de Silva701902.71

Dimuth Karunaratne c Mohammad Rizwan b Mohammad Abbas16282057.14
Oshada Fernando not out10217513058.29
Kusal Mendis c Babar Azam b Naseem Shah04000.00
Angelo Mathews c Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi19331057.58
Dinesh Chandimal lbw b Naseem Shah229006.90
Dhananjaya de Silva b Yasir Shah08000.00
Niroshan Dickwella b Haris Sohail657611085.53
Dilruwan Perera c Mohammad Rizwan b Naseem Shah581062.50
Extras3 (b 0 , lb 3 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total212/7 (60 Overs, RR: 3.53)
Fall of Wickets 1-39 (9.4) Dimuth Karunaratne, 2-40 (10.3) Kusal Mendis, 3-70 (20.4) Angelo Mathews, 4-96 (30.1) Dinesh Chandimal, 5-97 (31.5) Dhananjaya de Silva, 6-201 (57.3) Niroshan Dickwella, 7-212 (60.1) Dilruwan Perera,
Shaheen Shah Afridi1435113.64
Mohammad Abbas1223312.75
Naseem Shah11.133132.79
Yasir Shah1928414.42
Haris Sohail401012.50

> For More Cricket News <<