Over 3000 Athletes get set to grab ISAC title


The 16th Annual International Schools’ Athletic Championship (ISAC) 2016 is scheduled to be held on the 4th, 5th and 6th of March at the Mahinda Rajapakse Stadium, Diyagama from 8:00 am to 6:00pm each day.

Over 3,000 athletes from 24 international schools will compete in 130 events. The age groups range from under 7 to under 20 for both boys and girls. During the 15 years’ existence of the ISAC , the standard of Athletics among TISSL affiliated International Schools have progressed to an extent where they can produce skilled, professional athletes to represent Sri Lanka at competitive Track and Field Athletic Championship events abroad.

Photo Album – Day 1

300 officials are said to be conducting the competition under the rules of the Amateur Athletic Association of Sri Lanka. This event has been fully computerized with web based entries for participants and well-wishers to instantly access results and scores over the web through the following website: https://isac.lyceum.lk/. All athletes participating at the ISAC 2016 will carry a common Identity Card issued by TISSL, the governing body coordinating International schools in Sri Lanka.

This event is considered to be the most important co-curricular event in the calendar of all international schools. Each school awaits the opportunity to go head on with one another as they battle out to win the championship title.

Lyceum International School has been hosting this prestigious event over the years, which is the brainchild of the Founder late Mr. R.I.T. Alles. Lyceum took over the reins from Gateway College in 2004 and continued hosting the event every 3 years. At the closing ceremony of ISAC 2015 once again Lyceum took over to serve as the Official Organizer of ISAC- 2016.

The opening ceremony on the 4th of March, and the closing ceremony on the 6th of March will be graced by the Chief Guest for this year, Mr. Arjuna Ranatunga, Hon. Minister of Ports and Shipping.

Who do you think will take home the shield this year?