Janith Liyanage put up a chasing masterclass to lead Jaffna to win

National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2024


The fourth day of National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2024 worked off today (3rd March) with Team Jaffna and Team Dambulla registering wins at Colombo (RPS) and Hambantota.

Team Jaffna sealed a 4-wicket victory over Team Galle to notch up their second win of the tournament today at R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.

Having been asked to bat first, Galle posted a competitive total – 288/7 on the board courtesy of half-centuries made by Pathum Kumara (59) and Dunith Wellalage (52).

Janith Liyanage continued his excellent form in the tournament, producing yet another brilliant knock to guide Jaffna to a successful run-chase. Liyanage stroked 80 runs off 63 balls with 8 fours and 3 sixes with a strike rate of 126.98.

Team Dambulla registered their second win of the tournament as they beat Team Kandy by 3 wickets today at Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium in Hambantoa.

After opting to bowl first, Dambulla’s new-ball opening pair Vishwa Fernando and Mohammed Shiraz ripped through Kandy’s batting lineup, sharing 3 wickets each.

The Target of 202 seems relatively straightforward on paper, but Team Dambulla had to work hard as they crossed the line, losing 7 wickets. Sanoj Darshika (48) and Sonal Dinusha (44*) scored vital knocks to lead their side to the victory.

Brief Scores  

Galle – 288/7 (50) Pathum Kumara 59, Dunith Wellalage 52, Shehan Fernando 45, Dhananjaya Lakshan 32, Ramesh Mendis 29*, Ravindu Fernando 2/33 

Jaffna – 289/6 (48.3) Janith Liyanage 80, Nishan Madushka 58, Sandun Weerakkody 50, Nipun Karunanayake 44, Ron Chandraguptha 22*, Ramesh Mendis 2/47 

Result – Jaffna won by 4 wickets

Kandy – 201 (48.3) Ahan Wickramasinghe 42, Sahan Arachchige 37, Chamika Karunaratne 24, Vishwa Fernando 3/36, Mohammed Shiraz 3/49   

Dambulla – 204/7 (43) Sanoj Darshika 48, Sonal Dinusha 44*, Chamindu Wijesinghe 25, Ranesh Silva 25, Pavan Rathnayaka 24, Lahiru Kumara 2/30

Result – Dambulla won by 3 wickets